Does having GPS on use data?


Last Updated:

  1. iChaseH

    iChaseH New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm watching my data usage and just got the Droid Pro. I have widgets that need a GPS signal (weather ones) to operate. Usually I have my GPS off, but I turned it on and now the widgets work and I'd like to keep it on for these widgets but I don't want it to use data if thats what the GPS does. I already have my 3G disabled unless I need it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    The gps itself doesnt use data, its just a satellite signal receiver. However, those widgets will use data to communicate your location to the server, and download the appropriate data.
     
  3. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    GPS itself doesn't use data. So its safe to leave it on, since it only actually activates when an app is using it. But apps that might be using the GPS service might use data. So that weather widget you are using is asking for the location from the GPS, and then downloads the weather information according to what the GPS tells it.

    So its your widgets and apps that use data. GPS doesn't at all.
     
  4. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    A weather app needs GPS for your location and data to update the weather forecast.
    Without forecast a weather app is useless :)

    Harry
     
  5. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    369
    I will agree with all of the above, though I will refrain from repeating things that were already said likea couple have already done. LOL! ;)
     
  6. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,608
    Likes Received:
    3,223
    yes.. they others are right....

    GPS is for getting your location from satilites... no data.

    but after it gets your location, the app then looks for data to present to you the information you need.

    if you are in a wifi hotspot.... then it can get the data with wifi instead of Cell Network.
     
  7. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    you don't need GPS for weather widget. 3g works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...