does it bother anyone else....


Last Updated:

  1. lakai113

    lakai113 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    that you have to download a program or root your phone to be able to take screen shots.. this annoys the hell out of me.. i love everything else about my droid but i just cant get over it
     

    Advertisement
  2. Intervenient

    Intervenient Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    48
    It's an annoyance, yes, but not something I particularly care about.
     
  3. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Yes, but since I'm rooted, its no big deal anymore.
     
  4. lakai113

    lakai113 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2

    yea i dont plan on rooting anytime soon.. gonna wait a bit cause i have no idea how this phone is really gonna turn out..

    but really i shouldnt have to root to take screen shots
     
  5. PhoenixFx

    PhoenixFx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    91
    Yeah, it is annoying, but then again I dont think taking a screenshot is considered something an average user would want to do. I have been using smartphones for over 5 years (I have hacked, moded installed all sorts of applications), but I hardly came across the need to take a screenshot.
     
  6. lakai113

    lakai113 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    the only the only time i want/need to take one is when there is a thread about posting your wallpaper/home screens.. there is always a thread like that on most forums
     
  7. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    I only want it cause iPhones can do it
     
  8. lakai113

    lakai113 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2

    basically.. pisses me off
     
  9. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I think disabled non-root access for security reasons. Which is understandable I suppose, since a malicious program sending screenshots could be bad. It easily allows unauthorized remote access and control of the phone if you let a program do it.

    But then, this would be a case of trying to protect the user from themselves. Screenshots have some legitimate uses such as showing off (homescreens), troubleshooting, remote access (complete control of the phone from your PC), and stuff like that and sort of hinders some abilities of the phone.
     
  10. Tre Lawrence

    Tre Lawrence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    259
    LOL.

    I can see OP's gripe. But, rooting is a fairly easy solution.
     
  11. Gforce083

    Gforce083 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    You DON'T have to root. Just go to the Market and download the FREE App "ShootMe"

    Sure, it says before you install that it only works with rooted devices BUT this is not the case. I am NOT rooted, nor do I know how to root or hack my phone and ShootMe works perfectly! I'm on a HTC Aria.
     
  12. lakai113

    lakai113 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    i have tired it.. you lick 'accept' then it goes to a screen that says 'failed starting server.please check that you have **root*** access on your divice and enable access to the lower level graphics"
     
  13. lakai113

    lakai113 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    it does not let me go further than that
     
  14. EmoTonyB

    EmoTonyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    86
    i have seen posts from a few people claiming shootme works on non rooted phones. i have seen WAY more posts like yours saying it DOES NOT work on non rooted phones.

    mine is rooted and it works fine. i would tend to believe the non root phones it works on are a fluke of sorts. may be something with a certain update they have (or dont have)

    i would say if the app SAYS it dosent work without root access... chanced are .. it wont.
     
  15. lakai113

    lakai113 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't plan to root anytimesoon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...