1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Does it takes a genius? Android 3g shortcut ;)


Last Updated:

  1. z0rs

    z0rs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want, and I have for a while been willing to, disable and enable DATA (2g, 3g, whatever) with a long press of the search button. And I mean only long-pressing it, NOT opening an app with it and disable it from the app (doesn't make any sense, otherwise one would press the HOME button and disable it from a widget there).
    Why didn't anyone think of such a great thing??? Or did they?
     

    Advertisement
  2. z0rs

    z0rs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    anybody knows?
     
  3. rtb35

    rtb35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    131
    You can get a on/off switch for mobile data onto your home screen,

    Just open Widgets > Settings > Mobile network then just place it where ever you like on your home screen and then you can turn off/on mobile data simply by pressing the widget once.

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. z0rs

    z0rs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your contribution: but it is actually what I am doing and would like to improve. This method allows to go out of opera mini, disable 3g and lock the screen in 3 clicks. (home - 3g widget - lock screen)

    I am dreaming to do it in 2 clicks: disable 3g long pressing the search button, and locking the screen. This has the very good advantage that you can do this not looking at the screen, and it is fundamental for me because most of the time I can only use a phone for 2 minutes or less to browse. If I had 3g always on my battery would deplete considerably and my pants would go on fire with radiations, uselessly I add!

    I wonder why no one ever though of this.
     
  5. mgreen24

    mgreen24 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not sure which phone you have, but if you are rooted you could write a script that toggles your data connection and then map that to the search key (or any other key for that matter).

    The only other option would be for someone to create an app that toggles data on and off and have the ability to map the function to the search key like handcent's ability to map "Quick Compose" to the search key.

    Not sure if that helps, but it's all I got.
     
  6. homemade-jam

    homemade-jam Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want it that bad then you'll have to write an app that does it :) It will have to run as an intent listener if I remember correctly for the whole time the phone is on waiting for that button press.

    Then everyone in the same position as you will be able to download your fabulous app that everyone has been waiting for
     
  7. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    Someone DID think of your idea - YOU did. Unfortunately for you, and the community as a whole, that's where it ended. You could do yourself and everyone else a favor by taking your idea and doing the right thing with it - turn it onto an app! There are plenty of developers out there getting great ideas and turning them into great apps. Why not join their ranks?
     
  8. z0rs

    z0rs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish I could but unfortunately I am no developer and my life is headed in quite a different direction, I know it would require too much time to create something that could work, with endless bugs though that I wouldn't be able to solve (because I definitely am no coder!).

    I have an htc hero which is not rooted.
     
  9. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    uh, having 3g on isn't going to do anything bad, wtf. You are too paranoid imo.
     
  10. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    130
    It's actually really tricky. I looked into it briefly because I wanted a single click widget to do it rather than open the settings page.

    Switching between 3G and Edge-Only requires using APIs not in the SDK, which would be fine but it also requires a permission that is either system or signed (I don't recall) only, meaning you'd have to flash it like a ROM rather than download it from the market.

    I end up deciding it wasn't worth more time investigating. Sorry that's not what you wanted to hear.
     
  11. z0rs

    z0rs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am sorry but I meant switching 3g completely off (and back on), not switching from 3g to 2g and viceversa.
     
  12. z0rs

    z0rs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 good reasons for this:
    -battery life (yes, if data connection is turned off the phone is using MUCH less battery).
    -when you keep your phone in a pocket of your pants, your fertility (aka your balls) is/are much happier if you don't have a very powerful radio always on a few centimeters away from them.
     
  13. uzetaab

    uzetaab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    92
    That's the same thing. 2g is what calls are made over when you turn 3g off. the net wont work when the phone is in 2g mode.

    If you want to turn off 2g as well, then the setting you're after is aeroplane mode, which you can probably access by holding the power button down. Just remember, no calls, texts etc.
     
  14. z0rs

    z0rs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    4g = WIMAX
    3g = UMTS, HSDPA
    2g = GPRS or EDGE

    I cant still be in 2g and making calls and sending sms's.

    I don't need an airplane mode, but the no data connection mode you can toggle with any mobile data widget.
     
  15. notfound

    notfound New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you can do this (or something very similar) using Tasker. From what I see Tasker still does not handle long pressing search button, but it does handle camera button. And also switching on/off mobile data. So I think it should work for you.

    Generally, Tasker is fantastic thing. I use it (amongst other things) for managing my phone profiles (home/office/outdoors/night), and it works very well. What's even better, it's still free (at least for some more time).

    Not available through Android market, but you can find it here - Tasker for Android

    Hope this helps!
     
  16. xzillerationer

    xzillerationer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    11
    HTC Sense UI has a widget to do that. I use 2.1, and I don't believe that Android has a native widget to turn 3g on and off. I think it has one for WiFi though.
     
  17. notfound

    notfound New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, if we're talking widgets, I'd suggest SwitchPro - kind of 'all in one' widget - SwitchPro Widget for Android

    But as far as I've noticed z0rs didn't want to go back to home screen to switch data off?
     

Share This Page

Loading...