Does Samsung Galaxy Spica/Lite support Multi-touch?Support


Last Updated:

  1. noworry

    noworry Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Does this phone support multi-touch (like HTC Hero, Nexus One) in Browser, Google Maps, Photos etc like applications ?

    I want to buy this phone, but this feature is a deal-breaker for me.

    Thanks a lot...
     

    Advertisement
  2. The_Double

    The_Double Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    no.
     
  3. noworry

    noworry Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I heard that Android 2.1 update was supposed to enable multi-touch.

    Or is it a hardware limitation that this phone doesn't support multi-touch? If so, could you please point me to any specifications from reliable sources?
     
  4. Orfeas91

    Orfeas91 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it doesn't support multi-touch. 2.1 provides multi-touch function but the phone's hardware isn't capable. Look to other posts like that and this one.
     
  5. noworry

    noworry Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the links to the posts.
    But none of them mention any reliable reference for the reason.
    Samsung should clarify this. I ll ask the Samsung customer care about the same.
     
  6. Orfeas91

    Orfeas91 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, if you find something let us know ;)
    Maybe with a different ROM we could have multi-touch.
     
  7. The_Double

    The_Double Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    The latest developments are that the touchscreen itself supports it, but the controller chip attached to it doesn't. But someone also achived to flash his controler chip using a firmware from the behold2... So if Samsung really wants to it might be possible, but i don't think they care.
     
  8. Orfeas91

    Orfeas91 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think they do either...
     
  9. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    None of the beta's support multi touch, yet 2.1 on other devices have it by default. So the Samsung should as well, but only when the official ROM comes out
     
  10. rusty4ever

    rusty4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    i read on some russian forum that the hardware supports multitouch. so may be official upgrade will do the trick..
     
  11. The_Double

    The_Double Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    The controler chips firmware needs to get flashed, becouse this is a high-risk operation, i'm quite shure it wouldnt be implented in the offical roms.
     
  12. Tiggybot

    Tiggybot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's OK, to tell the truth, I'm not sure that all the HYPE is about with multi-touch. I can live with out it.
     
  13. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    The screen touches are only manking the software react how it's programmed to.

    So, as long as the s/w allows multi touch, it will.

    The HTC hero supports pinch zoom from the box, and that's on v1.5!
     
  14. ClausG76

    ClausG76 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try to download
    Dolphin browser on the market.
    It's a free internet broowser that has a pinch zoom feature
     
  15. rusty4ever

    rusty4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    hey guyz i have a logical reason. i upgraded my spica to 2.1(leaked) and when i checked for multitouch(on game called ice hockey 2 player) i found that it is sensing two touches and resultant point is average of both so may be it only required software update..i have also noticed on non-multitouch displays that they only recognizes one touch at a time.. correct me if i am wrong
     
  16. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Just to point out, there's a copyright to this as well. Apple own the copyright to
    multi-touch or pinch. So any manufacturer including it could encounter the wrath of Apple. (eg HTC)
     

Share This Page

Loading...