Does the G3 use up more of your data plan with running alot of things in the background?Support

1. AngelG3

AngelG3 New Member

Hi all, I'm new to the droid world, I'm coming from a Blackberry Torch. I have AT&T Samsung Galaxy S III. I just got my phone on 9/25/12 so I'm very new and still learning alot. So far I love it, but I do have a question.

When I'm at home my phone is running from my wifi connection. However while I'm at work this is not a option. I check facebook a couple of times during the day, and I use the back button when getting out of it. Yesterday I was at 30.89 MB in my data plan, I have the 300mb data plan. Today it states I'm at 44.48 MB used of my data plan. That seems like an extremely high volume due to me hardly using my data. I used my Torch the same way, and some days it would only register maybe 4MBs used for the day. So this got me to wondering about the data plan vs the phone.

I've always been very cautious of my data plan to ensure I don't go over and have to pay even more money. On my Torch I only had the 200MB and never went over. I bumped up to the 300MB on the G3 for peace of mind to play on it more, but now I'm worried.

Any thoughts, suggestions, etc for me to not use up all of my data plan in a week or two?

Thanks!!!

Advertisement
  2. Jeepmaster

Jeepmaster Well-Known Member

You can set your data limit level and warning level when you reach a certain amount of Data.
    Your data usage will depend on the apps you have. Many apps will use data to update and sync...like weather apps, facebook, email...

300mb is really nothing on a smartphone. My average use is over 1GB per month and I have wifi at home too. If you really want to lower your data usage, you can try check the box that said "Restrict background data" under settings>Data usage.

You can also download any data toggle apps so you can quickly turn ON Data only when you need to use it and turn data off when you don't need it.