1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Does the Galaxy S2 have Carrier IQ?General


Last Updated:

  1. zanza

    zanza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    36
    Does this phone have CIQ on it for TMobile?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Blue1k

    Blue1k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    190
    Yes it does. But root it and load a custom rom and you will be rid of this garbage.
     
  3. zanza

    zanza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    36
  4. Blue1k

    Blue1k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    190
    zanza likes this.
  5. Oldschoolwax

    Oldschoolwax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    30
    Oddly my new one came without it from T-mo...
     
  6. Blue1k

    Blue1k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    190
    It also present throughout the rom and kernel. It is much more than a running app.
     
    Oldschoolwax likes this.
  7. Oldschoolwax

    Oldschoolwax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    30
    Good to know! It won't be here for long, but didn't see what I had seen on my last GS2. Thanks for the info!
     
  8. andruoid

    andruoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    I have run the app that treve made and it appears that the SGS2X (Telus version in Canada) does not have CIQ.
     
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30,171
    Likes Received:
    21,944
    The SGS2 I have with AT&T is clean.
     
  10. Blue1k

    Blue1k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    190
    Not actively running. It was disabled for Telus. However the ciq framework is all throughout the rom and kernel. Mr. X from xda has explained this in his development thread for the rooted telus rom and kernel. His rom is truly ciq free
     
    andruoid likes this.
  11. Xerses

    Xerses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    20
    As long as it is not running (and the tool shows it is not) then I am happy. We will see what happens with ICS comes out from Telus in 2012.
     

Share This Page

Loading...