Does the instant messaging apps?Support


Last Updated:

  1. TheNextOne21

    TheNextOne21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the instant messaging apps such as AIM use your text messaging plan?
     

    Advertisement
  2. BadBoy5537

    BadBoy5537 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. jryan727

    jryan727 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    AFAIK the "official" AIM app (not sure if it exists for the incredible, I didn't even look for it) uses texts - that's the case across most (all?) VZW phones. Any other client will use data, like meebo or Hi AIM (i like the former better).

    Enjoy!
     
  4. craigrn16

    craigrn16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    13
    No they just use data on the incredible.
     
  5. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    no all messaging apps use data pretty much....dumbphones might use text but that would be about it. any phone with a DATA plan would be using that
     
  6. jryan727

    jryan727 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not true.. the official AIM app on the blackberries use texts. As do a lot of proprietary "smart"phones (aka not winmo, BB, or android powered)
     
  7. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    nightfishing likes this.
  8. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    They don't, but they do use hilarious amounts of battery power.
     
  9. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    I have never had a BB, but on the site it says:

    #


    Why would you need a data plan is it used texts... So i would say this uses your Data...
     
  10. jryan727

    jryan727 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    OK I'm not sure anymore. Some quick googling makes it seem as though it uses data. When I bought my first blackberry, I was told it uses texts. There appears to be a lot of confusion (still) on various forums, it seems that some of Verizon's phones do use texts, and some (like blackberries) do not, and the sales/support reps tend to not understand the difference.

    I was told many times by different VZW employees that it uses texts, so either they were wrong (not surprising) or it has since changed.

    Sorry for the confusion...
     
  11. MrGoodCat

    MrGoodCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    9
    well, an sms is limited to 160 characters. i have never used an AIM app on my incredible, but does it limit you to 160 characters? if not, then it is NOT an sms and your mandatory data will be used. verizon may be greedy, but they are not that greedy...
     
  12. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    i found your problem lol :)
     
  13. jryan727

    jryan727 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    On many devices, particularly ones that do not have data plans like ours, it uses text messages. I'm 100% positive of that. I had an enV and it used texts. Messages were not limited to 160 characters. The app could just split messages across multiple texts...

    yep! LOL
     

Share This Page

Loading...