Does using Google Voice as VM provider work for anyone?


Last Updated:

  1. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    Settings > Call Settings > Voicemail service > Google Voice

    GV is set up, sees my number, and I can dial out using GV. When I try to set GV as my VM service, it fails with an "Unsuccessful..." message.

    The carrier is T-Mobile.

    Has anyone had any success?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. MattG

    MattG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set up Google Voice on T-Mobile as my voicemail provider today. Had a guy at my work call my cell # (not Google Voice #) and leave a voicemail to test, and it worked perfectly.
     
  3. SoCal65

    SoCal65 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to the google voice website and check your settings there.

    www.google.com/voice

    I use GV only for voice mail, and it works for me.
     
  4. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks. I read at google.com/voice that the feature does not work with prepaid plans. I didn't want to hand over my SSN when first subscribed so they automatically "pre-bill" my credit card monthy. I guess this is a pre-paid plan. Any workarounds?
     
  5. MattG

    MattG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    AFAIK Google Voice will not work at all with prepaid plans.
     
  6. cm40

    cm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Prepaid or Flexpay accounts do not allow you to change the voice mail number that the calls are forwarded to.
    So you can't use that feature on Google Voice unless you have a standard billing account.
     
  7. 7thson

    7thson Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read this same info the other day too, this is really ridiculous though. They don't tell you about this when you sign up for an Everything More Plus plan right? :(
     
  8. cm40

    cm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0

    Even More
    and Even More Plus are two different plans. I'm not sure what they do and dont tell customers but at the end you agree to it if you sign the agreement.

    Even More is under contract. = You can change the voicemail number and use Google Voice's voicemail feature on your device.
    Even More Plus = No contract, Month to month billing = Can't change voicemail number and stuck with your t-mobile voicemail on the device.
     
  9. omatix

    omatix Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem, but I don't have a prepaid or flexpay plan - just a normal T-mobile post-paid business plan. Has anyone got this to work?

    To clarify, my VMs go to Google Voice just fine (I set it up ages ago on my old phone using the GSM codes you can find online), but using the menus as the OP described gives the error message that the OP also described.
     
  10. thnarf

    thnarf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set up my voicemail on T-mobile to use Google Voice the day I got my phone -- worked perfectly. Just clicked the setting in the application and Voila!
     
  11. omatix

    omatix Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man. That sucks. No idea what I can do to fix this. AFAIK, all it affects is the VM button on the keypad though.
     
  12. illutionz

    illutionz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wrong wrong wrong wrong wonrg.

    I am using Even More Plus (1000 minutes/Unlimited text and data) for $69.99. Now, the guy asked me whether I wanna "submit" my SSN and let them run it or not. I know that if i did not enter my SSN, they will enroll me on FLEXPAY EM+ which means you pay everything in the beginning of the month and you can't change the voicemail number to use Google Voice.

    Now, I gave my SSN and they say I am qualified for 8 lines POSTPAID. So I told him let's do Postpaid Even More Plus and yes I have google voice working fine and I am paying MONTH TO MONTH with the $20 cheaper plan.

    If you were NOT asked or unwilling to give your SSN, they will enroll you to Flexpay.

    PS: Flexpay is also applicable for NORMAL even more plan with 2 years contract. If you have crappy credit, they will still lock you for 2 years but you have to use Flexpay scheme which means you're paying in the beginning of the month

    Flexpay is the scheme that T-Mobile introduced a couple years back for crappy credit customer (think about it as the subprime phone plan) and it's applicable in both month to month plans AND 2 years contract plan :)
     
  13. scottricketts

    scottricketts Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't work on AT&T.
     
  14. scottricketts

    scottricketts Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I take that back, went to the GV site and switched it manually via their instructions and it's working!
     
  15. omatix

    omatix Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's what worked for me too (T-Mob), but that doesn't change the VM button on the keypad to call GV instead of your old VM provider. Minor issue, but apparently I'm fixated on it.
     
  16. ShotSkydiver

    ShotSkydiver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on AT&T and going to the site didn't make work for me... still won't let me change it in the phone's settings.
     
  17. scottricketts

    scottricketts Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're right. What the fudge?
     
  18. illutionz

    illutionz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't the point to have GV so that you use the GV application for your voicemail and read/hear it from the visual voicemail on the GV app?
     

Share This Page

Loading...