• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Does using the phone as a GPS everyday spoil the phone?

spman

Android Enthusiast
Feb 26, 2013
I am a delivery driver and I use my Samsung S4 map as a gps everyday. I am wondering the screen is continuously on for 9 hours a day, 5-6 days a week, will it cause any harm or spoil the phone?

After using for some hours, the phone screen feels hot.

Thanks

Well it would be hot since it's electricity is running the lights on continuously. However, the problem may arise regarding the screen wearing out faster. The screen is AMOLED, which means that it's made of tiny bulbs per pixels. As you know, over extended usage, light bulbs wear out. To extend the life you may want to set the gps app to night mode to have more blacks and thus more bulbs turned off at a time.

Reactions: spman and Hadron
Upvote 0
It will feel hot because it is not 100% efficient in producing light from the electrical power, and the rest inevitably ends up as heat. I'd expect that some of the heat from the cpu, gps receiver and radio will also emerge through the screen, and I assume you are charging it while using it (unless you have a very large battery) which also generates heat. So the phone, including the screen, feeling hot after 9 hours use as a sat nav is not at all surprising.