Does Verizon charge for tethering?


Last Updated:

  1. Knitewulf

    Knitewulf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    29
    I'm using a tethering app on my droid. Wi-fi tether. Usually comes with most custom ROMs.

    Well today I used about 35 megabytes of data from my phone because my internet was out. Would there be any reprecussions to this? Also how much can you tether without getting charged if any at all.
    Thanks in advance :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Fact: Verizon "can" charge you extra for tethering. The real question is: Will they? I have yet to hear of anyone on this site that has been charged. And there seems to be several people that tether quite a bit. Personally, I wouldn't worry about 35 megs. If you're tether gigs of data ... you might want to be a little more concerned.

    If the soon-coming 2.2 Froyo OTA update has the wireless tethering feature built into the OS ... the issue will become moot. Here's to hoping...
     
  3. Conner.josh

    Conner.josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tether quite often and dont see any impact on my bill. My usage is usually around 4.5-5 gigs a month but i'd say about 1 of those gigs is tethered usage. I wouldn't take that as gospel though because I could get a crazy bill tomorrow and could do nothing about it if they decided to charge.
     
  4. sheeder

    sheeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    From my Terms and Conditions Page;

    Unlimited Smartphone and BlackBerry Plans and Features
    These Wireless Email plans and features cannot be used: (1) for access to the Internet, intranets or other data networks except as the device
     
  5. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    According to today's Google/Verizon announcement, making your phone a mobile hotspot will indeed be a feature for Froyo. You'll be able to tether up to 5 additional devices to your phone. There will be a fee, however. You'll have to pay $20 per month and you'll be able to tether up to 2GB of data per month. I guess that means they'll be able to differenciate "regular" phone data and tethering data. Not good news for those of us that do like to tether from time to time.
     
  6. Jeffery

    Jeffery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    61
    I wonder if tethered data is only measured through FROYO's built-in hotspot application?
     
  7. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm willing to bet my paycheck that tethering will be easily monitored, rooted or not, with 2.2....Maybe even now with our wireless tether app.

    It would be worth their time and money to have some sort of partnership with Google to gather usage reports from the phone. I might just uninstall it now and call it a day. It was fun while it lasted.
     
  8. JimmyHat

    JimmyHat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    11
    I tether with Pdanet. It works great and is available in the market.
     
  9. DKYang

    DKYang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    19
    I just saw the Cnet video of this phone. The wireless hotspot tethering is an app itself, not via settings. I assume that Verizon will probably disable the feature when Froyo comes out and force people to use their app to get the wireless hotspot feature.

    If the phone is rooted and you use the wireless tethering app, I doubt Verizon can monitor that. They can assume if you keep going over the limit, but they can't just monitor it.
     
  10. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    I just cancelled my home internet service and am going to strictly tether via my DInc. I have no idea what my normal usage was via comcast, so we'll see what happens :)
     
  11. sr3tlaw

    sr3tlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me know how this pans out bro.
     
  12. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    I went back to comcast. I do quite a bit of downloading and the DInc just wasn't cutting it speedwise; a half hour for a 100mb file is too long for me. Guess I'm just impatient.



    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  13. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I would expect that. I wouldn't use my phone as my main internet connection unless the only other choice was dial-up, like in a rural area.
     

Share This Page

Loading...