Dont know what to do now?


Last Updated:

  1. pmartof

    pmartof Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I am pretty sure I Rooted my phone correctly everything did what it was supposed to but now that im rooted( i know this is a stupid question) what can i do? Do I have to download a custom rom to do anything? When i go into the super user there is just one folder that says unknown and when i click it three buttons come up saying Deny, Forget and cancel. Should there be more in the super user folder?
     

    Advertisement
  2. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    theres a number of advantages to rooting. theres some root only apps in the market if you want to stay stock, and theres tons of custom roms you can run. do some reading around here and ask for pointers along the way.
     
    pmartof likes this.
  3. pmartof

    pmartof Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so the one unknown folder in the superuser is normal? Should I open it? And could someone point me in the direction of where and how to download cyanogen froyo 2.2
     
  4. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    You can download CyanogenMod 6 RC1 here: HTC Hero CDMA - CyanogenMod Forum

    I also suggest you grab the Google Apps add-on pack. It comes with all of the Google goodies that CyanogenMod 6 cannot contain by default due to licensing and whatnot.
     
    pmartof likes this.
  5. pmartof

    pmartof Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet Thanks
     
  6. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    when you download cyanogen, go ahead and dl the newest nightly. (found here Index of /cm/nightly/heroc/)
    Basically since its an "unfinished" rom, these are nightly updates. I usually flash one every week or so, but if you want to do it every night, by all means. Dont let the term unfinished turn you off to this by any means though. Ive been running it for about 2-3 weeks now and havnt found anything that doesnt work as it should. youre gonna be amazed at how fast your phone actually can be
     
    pmartof likes this.
  7. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    You never really need to mess with the superuser app, a superuser popup will appear when something requests root access.
     
    pmartof likes this.
  8. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Yeah, honestly, I only recommend the CyanogenMod 6 RC1 ROM because it is a stable release. I figured it is a good place for a new user to start.

    The nightly ROMs are also fine to flash to as chawski said. Just be sure to wipe the cache and Dalvik cache before you flash over top of the previous CyanogeMod 6 nightly or CyanogenMod 6 RC1.
     
    pmartof likes this.
  9. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    clearing the cache is recommended when flashing a new nightly, but theres been atleast twice i forgot to do it, including the one im currently running, and ive never seen any problems
     
    pmartof likes this.
  10. pmartof

    pmartof Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok cool now I don't have a problem flashing the harder way through the recovery but I figured I would try it with Rom manager but for some reason it wouldn't let me download clockwork recovery it keeps giving me a error message any ideas why could that be a rooting issues? I can still boot into my ra recovery.
     
  11. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    What exactly does it say when you try to flash Clockworkmod RA?
     
  12. pmartof

    pmartof Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    It first asks me to verify my phone which I do then after about 15 seconds It says exactly "an error occurred while flashing your recovery" how do I know for sure if im rooted?
     
  13. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    download quickboot and see if it works, a superuser request should pop up then when you hit allow it should reboot, if this doesn't work then you probably don't have root.
     
  14. pmartof

    pmartof Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok the quickboot worked that's a good sign! Any other suggestions? Am I always supposed to have usbdebugging on?
     
  15. pmartof

    pmartof Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using the free version until I get paid tomorrow maybe that's it!
     

Share This Page

Loading...