Donut 1.6 wasted space on home screen


Last Updated:

  1. LuKeNuKuM

    LuKeNuKuM New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all,

    my phone (HTC Magic) recently updated to donut 1.6 - all well and good. at first i though "great - the search bar is smaller and neater" but... it's now left an ugly great space below it which i can't seem to fill... it's a bit too small for a row of icons and a bit too big to be pleasing to the eye.

    perhaps im being pedantic - but what with the wasted space at the bottom of the screen i feel im being short changed!

    i took a screen grab to illustrate:

    [​IMG]

    so tell me - am i being a bit simple and missing something? is there some way to adjust the widget area/screen res... or is it that not many people fill their entire homescreen with icons?

    really appreciate any feedback...

    :confused:

    Luke
     

    Advertisement
  2. shivers316

    shivers316 Godmember VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    979
    That's just the way it is now. I really haven't done any investigating as to why, but the made the search bar thinner.
     
  3. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you remove the search bar you can put more apps on the screen.

    If you just start typing a search bar will pop up by itself.
     
  4. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Interesting find. I was able to replicate this on a G1. I wonder if with the new 2.0 screen depth alterations that this will matter more. On the smallest screen size I bet it does make a difference. Interesting to see them not follow their own spec.
     
  5. supremeteam256

    supremeteam256 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or if you have root and load a custom rom you can change the look of the search bar.
     
  6. The Reverend Gridlock

    The Reverend Gridlock Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is an idea, put it on the bottom of the screen and you will not notice it as much
     
  7. LuKeNuKuM

    LuKeNuKuM New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah - guess this will have to do for the moment! thanks ;)
     
  8. LuKeNuKuM

    LuKeNuKuM New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried that, but it looks even worse unfortunately! it's a big gap *grrrr* never mind. thanks for the idea.
     
  9. OldGaf

    OldGaf Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow.... did not know that..... VERY nice :)

    -OG-
     
  10. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    how do you "just start typing" if you don't have a physical keyboard?
     
  11. OldGaf

    OldGaf Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a button assigned to the keyboard (long hold on power for me).

    I removed the search bar and got an even cleaner screen.
    Also, when I start typing it suggests matches on the device as well!

    -OG-
     

Share This Page

Loading...