Doom on Eris? (keycodes?)General


Last Updated:

  1. Zilliano

    Zilliano Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've gotten Doom working on my Eris, but the issue now is.... With no physical keyboard, I can't move.

    I'd love to be able to set the controls so that I can actually move anywhere, but I don't know the codes for the trackball, or anything like that.
    Can anyone enlighten me, or am I screwed/forced to make a version of Doom that works on touchscreen only devices?
     

    Advertisement
  2. SlickRick

    SlickRick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doom! Blast from the past! I'll be watchin this thread, I gotta have Doom! Good luck!
    SlickRick
     
  3. Zilliano

    Zilliano Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    16
    Come on, does anyone have ANY idea?
     
  4. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    I love Doom and all, but I'd have to think that it would be a terribly difficult game to play on a touchscreen...
     
  5. Zilliano

    Zilliano Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    16
    Nah, not really.

    Well.... Provided they managed to work in multitouch, which would have to be after the 2.0 update. >_>

    But it wouldn't be too bad, if you could map the touch keys, as well. Make search and back cycle through weapons, move using the touch screen or track ball, aim with the other... etc.

    It's currently set to turn with the track ball, and fire by clicking it in or touching the screen.

    They did it on the iPhone, so the same principle should be easier here... We have more buttons. XD
     
  6. KyleBlowers

    KyleBlowers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Palm Pre has Doom and Quake ports also... granted they aren't solely touchscreen, but shooting works by touch and the keys are used for directions...

    Trackball would be FANTASTIC for a FPS on a phone... so much more intuitive to fine tune your aim.
     
  7. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Hmm interesting... I'd like to try this if a working copy ends up getting released :D

    "Aiming" in Doom isn't done so much like modern FPS games... i.e., you just have to be facing the general direction, but you don't actually aim up and down, if I recall correctly (from many many years ago, lol).

    Anyway, count me in! I'd love to have it!
     
  8. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. Zilliano

    Zilliano Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well, it could probably use a bit of optimization as far as rendering goes...

    BUT THANK YOU SO DAMN MUCH.
    Seriously, this is EXACTLY what I was looking for, and it works PERFECTLY.

    Anyone reading this thread needs to download that.
    It's amazing. :)
     
  10. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1

    the source is in there too that this was created from so have at it. scheff has given up on this pretty much. there are 2 header files missing from the source but won't stop you from compiling it you'll be doing a from scratch build with this cause the source is for the G1.

    oh and if valad comes here complaining i stole his source code. tell him to take a flying leap. cause it's gpl 2.0 and i don't want to hear him crying i stole it anymore. he's been chasing me all over the net calling me a thief but he's the one who gave it to me and scheff before he went on a smear campain on us.
     
  11. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Awesome... now for the n00b question... how do you install it? :D
     
  12. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
    goto settings/applications make sure unknown source is checked then use any filemanager app to install. i use astro.

    create a folder on your sd card called doom and dump your iwads in that folder.

    i'll get a better tut later to get sound and stuff to work but this should get the game working without sound.

    edit opps forgot to tell you the name of the folder to create. :)
     
  13. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Do I need all of the files in your link? I just downloaded the .apk file because your post said the other ones were private or something...

    Thanks for the help :D
     
  14. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
    grab the sound pak zip all 3 of em create a folder in the doom folder called sound then extract the sound paks into that folder. those and the apk should do it.

    this should make the sound work.

    when you load the app for the first time it grabs the other files it needs from a server. this is why the apk is only 300k rather than 20 30 megs.

    then goto my iwad folder grab the the doom1.wad that's the shareware version. there are paid iwads in that folder too but i made them private due to copyrights. the other iwads either are standalones, require the doom.wad, or doom2.wad both of which i cannot provide cause they are paid.

    let me know if this helps. if not i'll load the file in my mediafire folder to get it to work.

    update

    this is just an update guys but it looks like scheff is back and trying to get a full touchscreen version for the masses. if you want to see what's up go here. most likly he'll post some betas there once he gets something he likes and wants to test.

    http://groups.google.com/group/doom-for-android
     
  15. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Thanks for that.

    One more question... You mention that the file is 300K, but downloads other files when you play it. What is the final size once it's installed and playable? I just want to make sure I'll have enough space (I had a low memory warning yesterday, had to uninstall a couple apps).

    Thanks again!
     
  16. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
    305k the other files get saved to the sdcard to save your limited internal space. once all the file are downloaded you won't need the web to play it. this is just to install the required files to run doom on your phone.
     
  17. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Great, thanks! Now I just hope the same thing gets done with Duke Nukem 3D :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...