Dorid drops calls when switches to 3G


Last Updated:

  1. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cricket Moto Droid Flash User here.

    I've had this phone for couple months now. The 1st month it was super smooth. Now it consitantly drops calls. Sometimes I can't even call out, the moment I hear the ring tone it drops.

    Now, this is what I notice. When I dial out it's not in 3G, it just shows the bars. So when I am talking it's still has the bars and no 3G. BUT when the phone switches to 3G mode that's when it drops....It does that everytime, when it swtiches to 3G I get disconnected.

    The Firmware is still 2.0.1. It asked to update to 2.1 and I said yes. It went through the process of downloading and shutting down but it's still on 2.0.1.

    I tried switching the mode network type to EvDo for 1x service but it switches back to 3G and it still drops my calls....

    Any suggestion? Anyone encounter this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump for help pls. Thanks :)
     
  3. kyleonfire

    kyleonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    You said you flashed to another network?
    I'm guessing that right there could be the problem.
     
  4. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well the phone has been Flashed to Cricket. Everything was fine for a month now it's trippin. I had a blakcberry storm before this and that too was flashed to Cricket, it was a great phone, no problem at all. This problem with the droid makes me miss the storm so much lol.
     
  5. kyleonfire

    kyleonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I don't know then. I never flash my phones because of crazy problems. And you can't exactly bring the phone in for service if your network doesn't even carry the phone. Unlocking/flashing phones to networks it wasn't designed for probably "trips" the phone out and sometimes might cause it to not function well.
     
  6. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure there is a fix for it. Someone has to know!!! LOL! It only happens when it switches to 3G from normal. There has to be a hicup going on there or something. Hmmmm?
     
  7. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    I'm pretty sure I know why this is happening. 3G AKA EvDo is for data only (evolution-data optimized) and when you make a call it drops down to 1x. Now since your on Cricket I'm thinking the tower is letting you switch to 3G during a call and it shouldn't be. Now your saying "well this didn't happen before" and to that I say it's because when you accepted the update you most likely got the new baseband even though the rest of it didn't install, and the new baseband is what's causing your problem. To check this go menu>settings>about phone and scroll down to "Baseband version" if it says C_01.3E.03P then your on the new baseband.
     
  8. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for responding. I just checked it, I am still on the C_01.3E.01P ......?
     
  9. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump for help pls. Thanks
     
  10. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump for help pls
     
  11. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    You might have better luck at howardforums.com, a lot of people over there have their Droid's flashed to Cricket.
     
  12. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I will post there. Once I get an answer I will post it here aswell for refrence for everyone. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...