"Downgrading" back to 2.1 Leak?General


Last Updated:

  1. bheller

    bheller Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't find anything about this. I found the Leak (v1 + 3) worked fine, except for the Music app constantly crashing, which did present a problem for me...But what presents a bigger problem is how non-functional this phone has become, seemingly just since the 2.1 OTA. I have a garden variety of bugs discussed here, and between the silent bug and signal strength, the thing is very close to being unusable.

    I've called *228 for the possibility of patches and done 3 factory resets. The possibility of barking about it and getting another one is there, but I haven't done it yet for various reasons.

    Bottom line: Can I re-install v3 of the Leak over the 2.1 OTA for the moment and prevent it from updating?

    Thanks,
    Brian
     

    Advertisement
  2. Shnuddy

    Shnuddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    14
    Um, have I missed something. I thought none of the leakers had received (or were going to receive) the OTA.

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  3. cmajpwc

    cmajpwc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm wondering the same thing. If you have the 2.1 OTA, you can downgrade to 1.5. Then reinstall the leak. But again, I thought none of the leakers received the OTA update...
     
  4. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12
    why would you ever purposely go to the leak when the OTA is out???
     
  5. bheller

    bheller Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't. I caved and had the leak installed in April. But if, indeed, I have the update and based on the problems people are having around here, that may be a reason!

    Hmmm...I couldn't tell you which thread, but after quite a bit of reading here (man, is it confusing!) I concluded that OTA was out (a week or 2?) and every was getting it, maybe not in one day though. I checked the thread where some research was done on build #'s, kernel versions, etc. and my numbers matched the OTA 2.1 numbers. My issues also match those who got the OTA update (can't say for sure there are no leakers, but I got impression those posting had waited). I'll try to take another look, but this has cost too much time already. Sorry, I didn't realize this was still in doubt. Thanks for the help!
     
  6. cmajpwc

    cmajpwc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    4
    Leak V3 and the OTA I believe are identical. The only difference is the HBOOT version I believe. That's why the same problems exist on both OTA and leaked phones. Did you get a software update notice that was about 77mb? If not, I'm almost 100% sure you DON'T have the OTA, and your leak V3 is just gone bad.
     
  7. bheller

    bheller Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I installed v3, worked fine. I think I did *228 and then it went to hell. Kept doing it & factory reset, no better (maybe worse). Then I started reading about all these other people with the same problem, and people had posted Verizon said leakers will get it...so I guess I made a leap somewhere in there...BUT...

    This is the thread I was referencing:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/87118-reference-what-htc-rom-do-i-have.html

    I have the kernel version of OTA, not 2.1v3 leak. For real. Maybe I should post over there?

    Regardless, the thing is getting worse and close to useless now-- I get weird results when dialing out sometimes, built-in apps crash, silent bug, etc. Restarting didn't fix it for the first time today.

    Should I re-apply the v3 update? Just assert myself for a new phone? Go back to 1.5 and get OTA? If it's not hardware then I don't want to go through the hassle of fighting with them, but it doesn't seem clear either way from what I see here.

    Many thanks,
    Brian
     

Share This Page

Loading...