[DOWNLOAD] 2.1 Icons + Nexus Launcher


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. andyriot

    andyriot Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    *INTRO*

    For those that have nothing positive to add to the thread, your opinions are not wanted here. Yes, there are other ways to do this same thing. Thank you for your all-knowing knowledge. This thread is a response to this thread. Thanks again.

    *DESCRIPTION*

    Okay, sorry about that first paragraph. Short description, This is being released because of another thread where it was requested. These are my personal mods that I made and use for myself but am now sharing with you all.

    I havent tried/looked into making a "flashable update zip" so for now this comes as a package of APK files that you will push to your phone via ADB. I have made this slightly easier for you as I have provided all the commands needed that can simply be pasted into a terminal window.

    This package is for 1.5 roms ONLY! I made it based on TTG rom but it should be fine for any 1.5 rom. These apk files only modify the stock application icons and stock android home launcher to the Nexus 2.1 style. There is nothing else changed. I am not responsible if your phone catches on fire after using my modifications, but I will try to help you out.

    The only thing I have been thinking of doing is changing the Voicemail icon to the Voice Dialer icon. There is not a Voicemail icon for 2.0+ yet that I know of, and holding the send button brings up the voice dialer anyways. I will more than likely end up changing the icon because the Voicemail icon is ugly on my homescreen lol. Thoughts?

    *INSTRUCTIONS*

    1. Download
    2. Extract to Android SDK "tools" folder
    3. Open Command Terminal
    4. Change Directory to your Android SDK "tools" folder (ie: "cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools")
    5. Paste the following commands

    6. After reboot, Goto Settings > Applications > Manage Applications
    7. Scroll down to "HTC Sense" and select it
    8. Press "Force Stop" and then "Clear Defaults"
    9. Press your "Home" button
    10. Select "Use by default for this action" and choose "Home"
    11. Profit?

    *RESULT*

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. lv2bll

    lv2bll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    theres already a packaged zip file on xda so you coulda pointed there and you can use fresh's kitchen to do the launcher

    but thx, the launcher looks great

    save a good 5 mins


    here is the link on the 2.1 icon update zip, all you need to do is flash it as a new rom
    2-1-icons.zip
     
  3. andyriot

    andyriot Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help but that is clearly not what was wanted. If you would take the time to read the post you might of known that.

    The 2.1 icon zip floating around is incomplete and doesnt work for all, me being one of them. It doesnt have all the icons and leaves much to be desired. The other zips floating around of the entire nexus mod have the opposite, way too much added that I did not want. However, my package that I created FOR MYSELF has exactly what I want. Simply the icons and the launcher all in one with nothing extra. Again, had you read the post you might of seen this was my own personal mod that I made for myself and it was requested by others, which is why its posted here now.

    You can delete your post now as it is irrelevant.
     
  4. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    5
    Pinellas Park? Dude, I'm comin' over to crack away at these Hero's :D I live near St Pete Beach.
     
  5. andyriot

    andyriot Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    hah! no way thats cool. I work on Treasure Island... used to live in St Pete Beach actually ;)
     
  6. lv2bll

    lv2bll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    never accuse some1 of not reading(as it is belittling), if you read my post you would see that im not taking any stabs but just trying to help people out

    actually it DOES(ive cheacked all my android apks) have all the apk's as you have above except for youtube & launcher as ive stated. If it doesn't work for some people then they can use yours, im not sayin your mods are irrelevant but for alot of people it can be streamlind to be easier(kitchen) and especially the people who dont like working the command line!:rolleyes:
     
  7. andyriot

    andyriot Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    The accusation was based upon you not comprehending my post then. I thought it was clear what this thread is about. This thread isn't asking you or anyone else for their help in achieving the same look. Again, thanks for the help but it could be better used elsewhere where someone is requesting it. Making the second post in my thread about some mods ive released with a link to OTHER mods is belittling my post by offering another solution when it was not needed.

    And yes, the other zip may have all the apk's, but that doesnt take away from the fact that everytime I flash it, it remains that 2-3 icons will NOT change. Ive flashed multiple times, ive flashed over a fresh stock rom, ive flashed over a fresh rom, ive ... you get the point. Again, I made this mod for my own personal use and never had any intentions of releasing it to the public for this VERY reason right here. Go roll your eyes elsewhere. DO NOT litter my thread with any more of your "help" -- Thanks!
     
  8. mroien

    mroien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    So with all these apk files do you get the functionality of 2.1 or is it just look like the new version of the apps? Thanks
     
  9. andyriot

    andyriot Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    its just a visual modification. your phone will operate the exact same way, you will just have different icons and app launcher drawer. its meant to be a bandaid for us until we can get a legit functioning 2.1 rom. gives you something new to look at :)
     
  10. mroien

    mroien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK thanks a lot. Just did it and worked well. They look great
     
  11. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    Those icons locked my phone up. I would not advise them.
     
  12. mobilemike01

    mobilemike01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Awesome! Thanks so much for dropping this hotness!
     
  13. andyriot

    andyriot Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    awesome! glad it worked well for you.

    i just realized i didnt provide instructions for activating the standard android launcher in order to see/use the Nexus style launcher.

    6. After reboot, Goto Settings > Applications > Manage Applications
    7. Scroll down to "HTC Sense" and select it
    8. Press "Force Stop" and then "Clear Defaults"
    9. Press your "Home" button
    10. Select "Use by default for this action" and choose "Home"
     
  14. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Not to go too far OT... grew up in Largo. Still have plenty of family in the area.
     
  15. mobilemike01

    mobilemike01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was born and raised in Tampa. LOL Small world.
     
  16. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    13
    I only have 3 screens instead of 7 now that I'm not using Sense. Plus I can't use Sense widgets...unless I'm missing something...
     
  17. andyriot

    andyriot Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    no sir you are not missing anything. i thought i mentioned that earlier, but it might of been in the other thread.

    this mods the standard android launcher, not htc sense. there are many benefits to this in my opinion, and lack of 7 screens is one downside. there are many third party widgets available out there to do what you need to do. for example, the flipclock widget in my screenshot looks exactly like the htc sense widget, but it is infact called "weather widget donate" with a skin applied. other popular htc sense widgets are the settings widgets. i use the "OnOff" series by CurveFish as a nice alternative to the switch widgets. any other questions feel free to ask

    also, you can go back to the htc sense launcher the same way you went about getting rid of it. its not gone forever, just not being used, and most of all... saving precious app memory!
     
  18. nclobo

    nclobo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just wanted to mention that there's an app in the Market available for free called Home Switcher. Basically what it does is enable you to switch back and forth between the Launcher and Sense without having to go into Manage Applications every time. Works perfect for a setup like this.
     
  19. mjz773

    mjz773 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    This may sound stupid but is their any way to install these on the Samsung Moment, it is running the same version of android as the Hero?

    Are these APK's just changing the icon or is it installing a full version of the HTC App with the different icon, because I think if it were the full app, it might work.
     
  20. andyriot

    andyriot Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    @nclobo thank you for mentioning that. that is definately easier for the less inclined.

    @mjz773 That isnt a stupid question at all. I dont really have an answer for you as I dont have a Moment to test with. Based on it running a 1.5 rom the same as the Hero, then yes it should work. These are full apk's of the applications ripped straight from a rom. I cant say wether or not to try, make sure you backup first if you do. Your mileage may vary..... let me know though
     
  21. mjz773

    mjz773 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    thanks for the info, I have a Hero, but am thinking of switching to the Moment for the keyboard, however I like the HTC apps.

    I posted a thread on the Moment forums, asking the question, and I gave a link to this post and gave you credit for all the work, so hopefully someone will respond with a respond on how it went.
     
  22. jleblanc6223

    jleblanc6223 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    can anybody post more detailed instructions? i downloaded sdk and look up how to install via adb all sorts of random shit... but i just couldnt get it to work... just a little more detail and i will get it on myself just need some help please.... thanksss alot
     
  23. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    I have a question. I have never used the command file thing, and was wondering if the apk's worked on their own. Like if I downloaded the zip and extracted all the apks...could I just install each one just like I would any other apk? There is no way kitchen can do this for me? That is how I got the fresh rom installed. Thanks for this download even If I have to learn how to write it all myself :)
     
  24. tipharet

    tipharet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you want to be taken seriously and not spawn hostility from some who may read your thread, I would delete the first paragraph.

    Really, you are creating more problems by pointing that out.
     
  25. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    I am sure he posted that because there are a few people on here that are just plain rude when pointing something out, or have a difference of opinion. We are all here for the same reason (knowledge AND helping others)....why does anyone have to be malicious about another persons possible ignorance!?!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...