Download: Official R2-D2 Droid 2 Boot Animation


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. umikun

    umikun Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    23
    [​IMG]

    A new R2-D2 boot animation appeared on the internet late last night and there are rumors that it
     

    Advertisement
  2. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    <high pitch voice>Awesomesssssssssssssssss!!!<high pitch voice>

    It's very choppy for some reason. going really slow, so slow my droid cuts it off before it finishes.
     
  3. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    36
    Nice, just installed it. It's also a little choppy, but not terrible. Don't really see a lot of point to it though as I rarely reboot my phone anyway.. =/
     
  4. riffdex

    riffdex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    32
    By droid do you mean your phone or r2d2?
     
  5. kevinbakon

    kevinbakon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    63
    Step 3 & 4 aren't an option on my PC . . .
    Can someone tell me what the command line should read (and how to populate it) so I can move on to steps 5?
    Also, has anyone successfully added sound?

    Edit: Okay here's what I did & it still doesn't work . . .
    Start->Run->cmd->cd c:\Android\Tools\ (Enter)
    abd devices (Enter - my devise is recognized)
    adb push bootanimation.zip /Data/local (Enter - slight pause, then the amount of data transfered is displayed)
    adb reboot (Enter)

    My devise reboots & the OEM animation is still there????

    What am I missing here? I've done this half a dozen times with other boot animations, but I can't get this one to work?
     
  6. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    Its choppy because for whatever reason the D1 can't handle as big of image resolution on boot as the D2 and DX.

    No matter how small I made the image size and how much I optimized it it was choppy on anything 480X480 and up. 480x480 is the stock DX and D2 image size and 250x250 is the D1
     
  7. TheBeachBoy

    TheBeachBoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm not a fan of Star Wars (gasp! :) ) but I do like that boot animation. I'm going to have to try it out.
     
  8. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    lol my phone.
     
  9. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    32
    My boot.zip was in system/media
    Renamed the old. Zip then dropped this one there.

    Awesome..
     
  10. juergen99

    juergen99 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm overclocked to 1Ghz and it is still a little choppy. My guess is that I'm probably not overclocking yet at boot time.
     
  11. admiralriker

    admiralriker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree. Very Choppy. I have SetCPU set for OC on Boot and it's still all choppy. Can someone please make this thing speed up! It's completely B.A.!
     
  12. TheBeachBoy

    TheBeachBoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3
    Interesting...I downloaded the bootanimation.zip from the link, overwrote the original file in data/local, did a reboot and got and just got word "Android" with a splash effect. No R2D2 for me. I'll try it again I guess.
     
  13. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    32
    I am going to go in and make the resolution smaller on each picture then re zip'ing. I don't have my photoshop on this windows 7 machine so it's gonna have to wait til the weekend.
    Just afraid the quality is gonna be affected drastically..
     
  14. ikenny

    ikenny Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anyone have the bootanimation.zip file? the megaupload link is no longer working. can't find it anywhere
     
  15. esmith818

    esmith818 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    316
    working link
     
    imronburgundy likes this.
  16. imronburgundy

    imronburgundy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    24
  17. damule6666

    damule6666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    26

    Same here... Tried it several times and all i get in the word android..:confused:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...