Download rom, press reboot, reboots in current rom


Last Updated:

  1. bugeyeblue

    bugeyeblue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    8
    So I bought a rooted Droid from a friend. Everything works fine. The phone came with the rooted version of 2.2 on it. Now the problem.

    When I go to download a ROM, it downloads, gives me the option to reboot in recovery (which would install the rom usually), and when I select that option, it just reboots into the rooted 2.2 I'm currently running.

    The first time this happened, I rebooted in recovery manually because the reboot got stuck at the bootloader screen. I then rebooted manually and loaded my previous 2.2 rooted rom.

    Now I can't reboot in recovery manually. Not too sure what to do at this point. I've owned a rooted Droid in the past and had not had any of these problems. I'd like to overclock and play with some other roms. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Easiest fix for this is to download ROM Manager if you don't have it already, from the Market.

    Launch ROM Manager and go into settings and select the option to erase current recovery when flashing a new recovery.

    Then exit Settings and choose the option to flash alternate recovery from the main menu in ROM Manager. Then flash the current Clockwork recovery.

    Then apply the new ROM again.
     
  3. bugeyeblue

    bugeyeblue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Using ROM manager now. Will this delete my good ROM I'm on now? What if I can't reboot into recovery manually again and get stuck being bricked?
     
  4. mbarr69

    mbarr69 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    ROM manager has a section called Backup and Restore. You have two options in that section Manage and Restore Backups and Backup Current ROM.
     
  5. bugeyeblue

    bugeyeblue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Backing up now... just rebooted when I clicked on backup current rom, is it supposed to do that?
     
  6. bugeyeblue

    bugeyeblue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok, now it's fully rebooted. I went back to ROM manager, and it says "recovery failure". My 3 options to choose from to click on say "recovery mode is broken", "rom manager doesn't reboot", or "other".

    What?
     
  7. bugeyeblue

    bugeyeblue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    8
    From my options, I selected "recovery broken". It gave me a list of things to try to fix recovery. I tried reflashing to an older recovery, then flashing the most recent clockworkmod. That seemed to fix it, as it is allowing me to back up my current rom.

    Now I'll go download a new rom when it's finished, and see if it reboots. Thanks for the help everyone.
     
  8. glitch32

    glitch32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you know how the phone was rooted? It sounds like it may have been rooted from one of the quick one touch rooting programs.
     
  9. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    You seem to have fixed it. Alot of times with the newer Roms, and Rom Manager, flashing a Rom will break your recovery. No big deal though because to fix it all you have to do is flash alternate recovery and then reflash clockworkmod recovery. Its happened to me a few times as well.
     
  10. bugeyeblue

    bugeyeblue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    8
    I think you're exactly right. But as of now, it doesn't matter since I got it working and traded it along with the Incredible I had for a Droid X.

    Thanks for the help along the way everyone, and I hope this thread helps someone else (should they ever decide to search).
     
  11. klwheat

    klwheat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    you traded your D1 and Dinc for an X? Why??
     
  12. glitch32

    glitch32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    That sounds kinda scary... what if your ROM doesn't work either?
     
  13. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    I've never had recovery break when flashing a rom unsuccesfully. Maybe it has something to do with the new roms being installed, and then the new rom attempts to overwrite the recovery or something. I'm not really sure. I actually havent had it happen in a while so maybe its an old bug
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    The OTA update, for 2.2, for example, includes a script that updates the phone's recovery script. So, yeah, this could very well be 2.2 specific....

    Except that OMJ said that this is also occurring on older Eclair builds as well.
     
  15. bugeyeblue

    bugeyeblue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Because I wanted an X, didn't have enough money to buy one outright, didn't have a contract upgrade anytime soon, bought the Incredible for a good price on Craigslist, had the Droid laying around. So I put them both up for trade.
     
  16. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    its not flashing roms that breaks recovery. Its flashing recovery that breaks recovery. Its something to do with low memory when flashing the recovery but its very hard to reproduce intentionally so its hard for any dev to fix
     

Share This Page

Loading...