"Download Unsuccessful"!!! WTF


Last Updated:

  1. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39
    So I think I have returned everythingto Stock on my phone after using Odin. The symptoms on the phone seem to be that everything works fine when I first reset it ... and then after a re-boot I just get the Fin "Download Unsuccessful" from the app store over and over.

    I suppose I can bring my newly purchased phone back to Verizon and swap it...

    Is there any other people that have had this issue??
     

    Advertisement
  2. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    download unsuccesful from the market is common...wiping data and reflashing jts rom should fix it...others have simpler ways of doing this im sure, but that works for me.

    dont return a phone thats completely fixable :eek:
     
    scoobysnack likes this.
  3. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130

    true that to many people return phones and that is going to one day kill us all from hacking them the way we want them...I couldnt imagine having to use a stock phone now haha;)
     
  4. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yup, unless you have a brain freeze and do something ridiculous these phones are very difficult to brick and most returns are fixable...drives me a little nutty :eek:
     
  5. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39

    Is there a simple step by step method for Re-flashing JT? I'm so confused with all the ODIN ADB steps etc....
     
  6. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    you dont need adb...put jts super clean 0.4 on your sdcard...boot into cwr from rom manager or batt pull and 3 button recovery....install zip from sdcard...select his rom, then wipe data and cache and reboot

    your market should be fine
     
  7. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39
    E:Failed to verify whole-file signature
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation aborted

    This is what it says....

    Any suggestions?
     
  8. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    is that in blue (standard recovery)

    if so you either dont have cwr or you deleted/moved the update.zip from clockwork on the root of your sdcard
     
    scoobysnack likes this.
  9. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39

    Yes this is what it says in recovery... how do I go about updating CWR or putting it back on?

    Am I able to use ODIN?
     
  10. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39

    Got it figured out! Thanks man!
     
  11. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    scoobysnack likes this.
  12. skipster

    skipster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    What's the order.... wipe data and cache, THEN re-install JT? OR, re-install JT THEN wipe data and cache?

    Tried it both ways, and still no market downloads...

    Thanks for everything!

    Skip
     
  13. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    you can wipe data/cache after you flash but before reboot...then once it boots do a factory data reset.
     
  14. skipster

    skipster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Not working. I guess I will be figuring out the Odin thing today.
     
  15. Rvpn12

    Rvpn12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem after I tried rooting my phone and it turns out that my phones is on the list of not being able to take ota or something like that so verizon is giving me new phone.
     
  16. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    on the list of not being able to take ota? i havent heard of anything like that...unless vzw checked your phone through their system and because of modding its incompatible with an ota...but thats to be expected :cool:

    while i really dont know why factory data resets arent restored your markets (btw dont freeze any google apps that ll bork market d/ls as well)

    i can guarantee that odin your system back to stock will fix the market....getting new phones from verizon is not the answer unless you had hardware issues with it...ie screen pixilation, failed radio
     
  17. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    That's the easy way though..its hard work to listen and try what is said who cares if its a perfectly good phone being sent back..that's how some see it..and I think the cell companys need to say to bad.:mad:
     
  18. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39

    Grrrrrr! The phone is back to the same ol same... it will not download any apps from the Market! So I have CWR all installed.. I have tried to reinstall the J rom's .. they seem to work just fine until after the Reboot. Then after I reboot it starts doing the same ol shit again.

    Do you think it has to do anything with the root itself? Is there a way that I can unroot the phone and get it completley back to stock and start over?

    I don't want to do ADB Shell if I can help it =(

    I do have ODIN
     
  19. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    you can always odin the pit/system then kernel then cwr to totally clear up and be fine

    but really wipe data/cache in blue recovery wipe data cache in cwr factory data reset when the phone boots

    theres really no reason that shouldnt work as long as you dont keep freezing google apps with titanium or deleting them.

    really just wiping and reflashing a rom fixes it for me when i get off the reservation
     
    scoobysnack likes this.
  20. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39
    You are always so helpful! I cant tell you how much I appreciate it!

    Would you mind doing me a big favor... I know it's a pain in the ass. Would you be willing to do a step by step for this suggestion:

    you can always odin the pit/system then kernel then cwr to totally clear up and be fine

    I just want to make certain that I do everything correctly with Odin as far as adding the correct files ... etc...

    Thank you!!!
     
  21. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    theres already an xda thread that does it :)

    Odin Restore files to get you to stock - xda-developers
     
  22. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39
  23. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    nope, just pit/system thats it. remember PDA only, no phone :)
     
  24. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    39

    So do I select the Pit Tab load the pit file and then select the PDA tab and load the according file?

    In otherwords do I need to do the Pit file with each PDA selected file that I want to load?
     
  25. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    no just load pit and system and flash together...then kernel by itself, then recovery by itself
     

Share This Page

Loading...