• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Downloading apps from PC then copying to phone?

Hey there! Total Android/Smartphone experience beginner here. After tinkering for a couple days with my SG2, I'm still wanting to download a ton apps and stuff... but I've figured that it's better to use my faster broadband connection, and it would also save me from spending my phone's battery. So far, though, the Market's page says 'this will be downloaded to your phone soon' or sumthin' like that. I don't really get the logic behind that: if I wanted that I'd have browsed from my phone, not my PC! So, here's the deal: I want to download the app data to easily copy it via USB to my phone, and THEN install the apps. I'm not talking warez or anything of the sorts, I want legit stuff. I've searched the web and haven't found an easy solution... but it's something so basic I'm dumbfounded to believe it can't be done. :p Thus, here I've registered and invoke yer help, oh droid masters! Please heed my prayer for help! xD

Well, even if you could download it to your PC first, you’d still have to get it from there to your droid, so ultimately the whole thing would have to take even longer. And besides, the Market’s gotta a see a specific droid before it releases an app -- that’s just a Google Law.

Upvote 0
First of all, thanks for your reply! The great G already knows what my device is, I've registered it, etc. But I dunno why it must that device itself which makes the DL? The matter is that wireless download speeds here suck, so that actually makes a HUGE difference (also battery usage). If I can DL via PC I can leave it downloading a gazillion apps (via download managers, etc.) overnight, then copy the files to my phone in the morning via a USB cable, which is waaaay faster and much easier on the phone itself. :) Is my idea/situation so unusual? :p

Upvote 0