downsides to rooting the x10?

Last Updated:

1. ray1510

ray1510 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Are there any downside to rooting the x10, I'm new to all this rooting thing and it sounds like its a good thing but I'm just a bit worried, will I still be able to update to all the new software etc, is there anything on the phone that stops working?, will I lose all my apps etc,
    My software version is something like r2b... 24
    Thanks for any help.

Advertisement
  2. Bexy

Bexy Well-Known Member

When I did it, it factory reset the phone, which did lose the apps etc but, fortunately I'd back it all up first anyway with My Back Up Pro and then restored afterwards.

If you're on 024 then you have the highest build firmware I believe. Rooting will put it at 023. Which is a good thing for me as the highest I could have was 020.

You won't lose anything, or nothing will stop working. You can however remove built in apps, such as Moxier (which ive done), playnow, trackid. Anything you don't want! So I've removed Moxier and the SE back up and restore feature. Maybe a couple other things I didnt want. Because of the build number you're on, id say, only root if you want to get rid of Moxier and other crap from the phone.

3. ray1510

Ok thanks so if I did root my phone and deleted a load of things and decided I wanted to go back to the original setup could I reverse everything back to how it was, also would rooting boost performance i.e speed and battery?
    Thanks

4. Bexy

Bexy Well-Known Member

If you wanted to go back to unrooted, you'd just run step 1 again which would put a fresh install of 016 firmware on there :).

If you remove the apps you dont use, like Moxier, which open automatically it can improve the performance of the phone yeah. I dont think the battery would improve much but, only because you have the latest firmware already. If you were on 014/016 then you would see an improvement.

5. ray1510