Droid 2 - Dialing ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. kwalsh1966

    kwalsh1966 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    New user alert!! lol!! Sorry if this has been asked before but when i retrieve my voicemail messages and prompted to enter my access code the backlight to the phone turns off? How do i keep this light on so i can enter my code?

    I've also noticed that even when i'm on a call and i want to switch on the speaker phone i have to "wake up the phone" by pushing the on button and even then the screen only stays lit for a second....

    So i guess the question from the newbie is how do i keep the backlight on when the phone is in use?

    Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    The screen should wake up automatically when you pull the phone away from your face...do you give it a couple seconds to wake up? There's a proximity sensor in the phone that tells it when it's near your face so it can turn off the screen so you won't dial or hang up w/your cheek.

    Look in the Display and maybe Call Settings for screen time-out settings.

    For voicemail, you can program the phone to enter your PIN for you - makes it very easy. Can't remember where that setting is, likely under call settings?

    You can enter your PIN in the settings and it will connect you automagically from now on.
     
    kwalsh1966 likes this.
  3. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    You can download an app called Screebl that will force your screen to stay on during calls.
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    That's an option, but the screen is the biggest battery sucker...
     
  5. bishang

    bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to Call Settings > Voicemail Settings, and I can't find where it says I can put my PIN it for it to automatically connect me to my voicemail.
     
  6. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Crap...I can't believe they took that out! It's in 2.2 on the D1. Maybe they moved it somewhere else...I hope not.

    You should be using Google Voice for voicemail anyway..sign up for GV and then set your voicemail to Google Voice...much better experience IMHO.
     
  7. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yep google voice for voicemail is way way better.
     

Share This Page

Loading...