DROID 3 wifi problemsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. skeezix1970

    skeezix1970 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry if this has been asked before (I'm using tapatalk, and trying to search kinda sucks and hasn't helped me).
    my problem is, when I'm at home I always use my wifi on my phone, and have never experienced any problems.
    lately though, when I connect, my status bar shows that I'm connected to my wifi, but the signal bars are gray. I have opened my wifi settings and chose to 'forget' my home connection and then re entered my password, but no luck. my xbox360 and wii are working just fine, so I know the problem is with my DROID....
    any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Rick:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,594
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    When the bars are gray, can you or can you not browse the web with the phone?

    Also, the very next thing to do is to try restarting the WiFi router. See if that helps.

    What are your WiFi router settings? b, g, n or all? Which channel? And which security do you use (WEP, WPA or WPA2)?
     
  3. skeezix1970

    skeezix1970 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cannot browse the Web at all. set to WPA/WPA2. As for the channel, I will have to wait until I get home to check. I never had any problems though until last week. I'll try resetting the router. I'm actually a little embarrassed I haven't thought of that already :eek:
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,594
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    If the router reset doesn't work, and if the rest of your devices can support WPA2, try setting the security to WPA2 only. I've seen issues in the past with WPA security using AES (TKIP is the normal WPA encryption standard used, while WPA2 uses AES.)

    Having to reset the router is an annoying solution, IMHO. THe uptime of my router is since the last time the power went out at my house. That's the way it should always be!
     
    skeezix1970 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...