1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Droid 3 with Cisco VPN?Support


Last Updated:

  1. giimmee

    giimmee New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    One of my co-workers has a Droid 2 Global and uses the extra VPN Motorola included to connect back to the company's Cisco gateway. He had to modify the profile to get Group Authentication to work, but it works fairly well.

    I would like to get a Droid 3, but was wondering if Motorola included this extra VPN again so that I could do this also. Does anyone know or has anyone messed with this on a D3?
     

    Advertisement
  2. CyberWinter

    CyberWinter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'd love to get mine to work with the Cisco ASA5510.
    I have not messed with the vpn on this though. Hopefully someone else would know
     
  3. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    I haven't used it, but there are VPN settings under the wireless & networks settings
     
  4. CyberWinter

    CyberWinter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    2
    Unfortunately, Cisco equipment requires Cisco VPN software rather than generic VPN software :(
     
  5. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    Yea, I thought it could be compatible though. I looked in the Market and didn't see anything made by Cisco, but there are several VPN applications in there. Maybe you could get lucky with one of those?
     
  6. CyberWinter

    CyberWinter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has to be Cisco. It's a "security" feature, lol.
     
  7. iuban

    iuban New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cisco supports several non-proprietary protocols including pptp (assuming your IT folks set it up that way). The only problem most people have is the exclusion of ms-chap from windows 7 client. My xoom connects to the VPN flawlessly with the built in VPN client. My Droid 3 however connects, but is very shakey through 3g. It connects for a few minutes and then it seems to stale out. Both the phone and the pix agree they are connected, but no traffic will pass through until I disconnect and reconnect. May just be a VZW thing...
    Hope that helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...