Droid eris doesn't type sometimesGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. enkay19

    enkay19 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently got an eris, and I read that in order to optimize battery life, you could install Handcent SMS, so I did. But, at times, my phone will not type. I will type in words and the word predictor will work, but it will not type anything into the actual message. Any fixes? :p
     

    Advertisement
  2. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    16
  3. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    zutmin likes this.
  4. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    16
  5. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well, thanks for fixing it for me :)
     
  6. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    NP, one question. I installed SWYPE... yet how do I use it??
     
  7. Resun

    Resun Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine does it too even with swype. I just exit out of the program I'm using and restart it. Seems to work 90% of the time. Other times I have to restart.

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  8. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    16

    Settings>Keyboard & Language>Swype

    then

    Open your messaging app and long press on the box where yo would enter text. You will get a popup asking you for "input method." Select Swype and you are good to go.
     
  9. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hmm sounds like you may need a factory data reset. See sticky thread at top of this forum.
     
  10. Resun

    Resun Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have done a factory reset. Multiple times actually.
     
  11. Crunchbot

    Crunchbot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    mind does the same thing, no matter what keyboard I use. It usually starts again if I exit the app, as stated before, or wait about 20 seconds. It didn't happen before I installed v3, and I was hoping the OTA would fix it. Just one more bug to get used to with Android, I guess.
     
  12. Roaddog

    Roaddog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    28
    That sometimes happens to me, but I've noticed that it happens when I'm holding the phone in landscape mode, and not when it's in the vertical position. Dunno why, but that seems to be an issue.
     
  13. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    That's just masking the lag problem all he probably has to do was disable haptic. And if you really must suggest a program to fix you could at least offer alternatives especially when ShapeWriter and slide it are available in the market. Not some hacked version ;)
     
  14. cmajpwc

    cmajpwc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    4
    Believe it or not, I read this thread this morning, and experienced this problem later in the day for the first time. Wow, what bad luck. To fix it I just go back one screen and start over. It's a minor annoyance but I deal with it for now. I haven't experienced this in landscape by the way (knock on wood)
     
  15. cdmapes

    cdmapes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine does the same thing sometimes. however, if i keep typing, when i close the keyboard, i notice that it actually did type in my message and i can send it. it's somewhat annoying that you can't check your message as you type but if you pay attention while you type it's less annoying than going back to the home screen every time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...