Droid Incredible bricked??


Last Updated:

  1. phillyrider807

    phillyrider807 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so i was trying to install the leaked 2.2 update and like a dummy i messed up.

    I did not do anything to my phone before i started this.

    I followed the steps on this page. Since i never attempted to hack my phone before i followed the "non rooted" instructions on installing the radio.
    [ROM]Leaked Stock 2.2 with Sense [LEAKED ROM - SOME BUGS!!] - xda-developers

    Non Rooted

    1. Download dinc_ota.zip, rename it to update.zip and place it in the root of your SDCARD.
    2. Now boot into recovery and apply the zip.
    2a. adb reboot recovery if powered up or Power + Volume Down then select Recovery.
    2b. Now hit Power + Volume Up to bring up the Recovery menu.
    2c. Now select apply update.zip
    3. Go to Settings > About phone > Software information > Baseband version and verify that it's 2.05.00.06.11.
    4. Now download and run Unrevoked 3 to root and install ClockworkMod recovery.
    5. Now you can go ahead and do a Full Wipe then install the Stock Froyo rom.

    I get to step 2c and it goes through the installing and everything. I then click "reboot" And now i cant pass the white screen that says "htc incredible"

    Anyway i can get this working again?
     

    Advertisement
  2. RickSizz

    RickSizz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
  3. phillyrider807

    phillyrider807 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't access recovery mode.
     
  4. RickSizz

    RickSizz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    pull batt and then put it back in, hold volume down and power together, you should get hboot before anything, if you put that file on the root of the sd it should detect it and ask you if you want to run it. but the sd card *MUST* be formatted for FAT32.. hope you have a microsd adapter or another way to get the card formatted and the file on it.
     
  5. phillyrider807

    phillyrider807 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea im saying it wont access it. Only thing it does is boot to the white htc incredible screen.

    O god this isn't looking good. I followed those instructions perfectly too. Sighs.
     
  6. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    16
    did you possibly apply ota twice? Think that's what happens when you apply it twice
     
  7. RickSizz

    RickSizz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah.. If you did install the OTA twice then yes, you have a brick.... there may be a fix out there but I doubt it...
     
  8. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    16
    The first time I tried to install OTA it aborted during update, I applied it again thinking for sure I was gonna brick my phone but all went well second time around. Oh well it has a warranty!
     
  9. bmo21

    bmo21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    Have you tried rooting it? That is where I think I would go. if you get it rooted you can install either a stock Rom, the leaked ota froyo or a nandroid backup if you have one.
     
  10. zeke88

    zeke88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    13
  11. silverxbv2

    silverxbv2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
  12. murdau21

    murdau21 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    supp peopless. uhhh i rooted my phone a couple of days ago and put on the cyanogen ROM. today however i tried to put on a different battery logo in my notification bar to the right and someting must of went wrong cause when i go to turn on my phone it goes past the htc incredible part but it stays on the cyanogen logo part and does this process over and over and over and over and so on. i tried holding down the volume and power button to take me to tht green screen or whatever its called (im not that experienced with this yet) and trried rebooting it, restoring it, wiped all cache, wiped data/factory reset, and still the same results. although my phone turns on and when i charge my phone the led light turns on so im not sure if its a brick or not. can someone pleaseeeeeee help me with this.?!?!?!?!??? thank youuuuu
     
  13. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Try installing a different rom. You are far from being a brick.
     
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11,139
    Likes Received:
    7,418
    wow i got a headache from reading this post and trying to decide what your actual prollem is.

    if i am correct: you cannot boot at all into a functionioning rom,but you are still able to get into recovery.

    if this is the case,you need to either:
    a)boot into recovery,wipe,and restore a backup that was working for you. we can help you with other issues when your phone works again.

    or

    b)if you have no functinal backups,take this as a lesson learned and MAKE BACKUPS PRIOR TO ATTEMPTING ANY CHANGES TO YOUR PHONE IN THE FUTURE. with no backups youll just have to reflash a rom. if there are roms on your card allready,pick one and reflash it. this will let you get your phone back into some kind of functional state.

    if there are no roms on your card,boot into recovery and choose the option to usb toggle. you can then download a rom to your computer,and transfer it to your phone via usb cable.

    at the risk of confusing you further: when you boot into recovery youll need to look at what version of clockwork you have(i know you have clockwork since you have green letters). some roms wont install with one version or the other of clockwork,so youll need to look in the developers thread and see if they provide downloads for both versions,or youll just need to pick a rom that your version will install.

    checking this and doing a lil reading/research before hand will save you the fustration of seeing an "installation aborted" error when flashing.

    speaking very generally:
    -use 2.5.x.x to install just about anything.
    -3.x.x.x will usually only install AOSP roms.

    so if youre clockwork recovery is 2.5.x.x you should be good to go.

    at any rate,as sdrawcab said,your phone is not bricked as long as you can get into recovery. in the future try and make your posts a little clearer. also youre likely to get more help if you do not post your prollem at the end of a 7 month old thread :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...