Droid keeps clicking ads... wtf?


Last Updated:

  1. Droidood

    Droidood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    For example, when I'm on this site if I try to click a topic and miss it opens the Amazon ad on the left. But I can't even see the ad on my screen when it does that so I dunno how its happening...

    Also, this phone can't keep up with typing fast at all rofl seems to max out at like 20 wpm and lags really bad if you go any faster. Pretty disappointing...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Wakey

    Wakey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine did the same thing earlier with the Amazon ad.

    It's brand new.

    It's buggy.

    This is not unchartered territory so relax :D
     
  3. Granada

    Granada Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue with the amazon ad on this site.
     
  4. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    95
    I had the same thing happen when I tried to get on this site earlier. I would assume that the browser has trouble handling ads with preset sizes. The ad displays correctly, but the amount of room it uses is much larger than it should be. Don't know if I am describing that in a way that makes sense. If you put your thumb on the screen and hold it, you will notice that there is a huge square covering most of the screen, even though the ad itself only takes up a small corner of that box.

    Seems to me that it is a browser bug. Google will fix it soon enough. :)
     
  5. Lafond

    Lafond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, that Amazon ad is horribly annoying. Never had a problem with other sites though.
     
  6. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    Same here. While I'm glad I haven't run into that problem anywhere else, it really makes browsing this site horrible :(
     
  7. dbarrett480

    dbarrett480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it is a problem with this site, all the other forums I browse on my phone don't have the issue. It is incredibly annoying though.
     
  8. professa

    professa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like an ingenious plan to make some pay-per-click revenue, put a bug in one of the hottest mobile devices to just click on random ads.
     
  9. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yup, and I believe it's just that one ad to the left. Instead of just encapsulating the image, it encapsulates everything to the right and everything below. If you click and hold you should see the box.
     
  10. quentinfisher

    quentinfisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    could be your screen calibration? Reps usually set this up in the store, so it might not be tailored to where you usually press something on the screen, virtual keyboard etc.
     
  11. Wakey

    Wakey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Use the Dpad and keep clicking down and then press enter or return.. What ever that key is called.

    I got the display protectors from Verizon and I'm about to remove it to see if that is part of the problem in general with the screen.

    I'm constantly selecting something inadvertently while trying to scroll.

    Clicking a particular box can be maddening at times.
     
  12. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    It's def not the phone, it's some problem between how the code is written for this site and how the browser is rendering. Long pressing any link will show the clickable area for that link (orange rectangle), the clickable area for the ad to the left on the motorolla droid subforum page is huge and covers way more than the pic
     
  13. blank

    blank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is actually a entire topic on here about the ads on this site, and not being able to use the site from our droids, which really ruins some of the points of even coming to this site.


    And apparently the admins of this site are more worried about making a couple pennies rather than having active members, or else they would've resolved the problem by now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...