Droid Phone Contacts Search and Dial


Last Updated:

  1. droid_freud

    droid_freud Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know of an app to improve contact searching in the Phone app?

    I would love a BlackBerry-like interface where the phone opens and you can just start typing a contact name (on dialpad) (or any contact data to select and narrow a contact search????

    Instead you have to perform an actual search or scroll - what a pain!!

    If nothing exists - who's willing to build it?

    THANKS!
     

    Advertisement
  2. aguillon5

    aguillon5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tap magnifying glass type contacts name first few letters or first name......voila!!
     
  3. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    You can just start typing a contacts name and it will bring them up.

    It would be nice if it would recognize other contact info. Sometimes I'll see a phone number and not know who i belongs to. It was nice to be able to start typing in the number and the contact that had that number would come up on the BB.

    edit: typo
     
  4. droid_freud

    droid_freud Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks - I'm aware of the search (mag glass) method and the ability to type (IF keyboard is open), but a blackberry allows you to simply start typing keys corresponding either to numeric or alphanumeric attributes of contacts...
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Right, you can start typing on the BB's front faced keyboard, OR, you can slide open the Droid's keyboard and do the same thing OR you can press the search button and type on the virtual keyboard.

    How else can you do it? The Droid is not a BB, the keyboard is not perpetually accessible. You want a virtual keyboard to automatically pop up when you enter the contacts/phone app? That doesn't sound very reasonable to me.
     
  6. droid_freud

    droid_freud Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    much easier - when you select Phone, the default screen is the keyboard. So if I want to dial Michael Pepper of IBM, I would simply start to dial any part of Michael, Pepper, IBM, or other known attribute of the contact.

    For example, if I knew I had 30 Michaels in my contacts, I would probably chose to type (search) for Pepper - by just starting to type 7 3 7 7 3 7 (P E P P E R) - just like a BB

    :)
     
  7. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Get a Droid Eris...the people app will do this. One of the things that is keeping me on the fence about switching to a Droid.
     
  8. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    There are apps for the Droid that do the same thing....I have one somewhere....

    Yep, here it is....

    Search for 'SuperDial' in the Market.
     
  9. dcorn

    dcorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    13
    ^^Bingo. Launching superdial brings up a split screen with your call log on the top and dial pad on the bottom. Use the dialer to type either a number or a name and it brings up the people associated with what you are dialing. Very cool and much better than the stock dialer.
     
  10. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    Yep, and SuperDial can be set as the default dialer. Problem solved.

    Before getting all worked up over a non-existent feature, just follow these 3 steps:

    1. Search the Market
    2. Search the Market
    3. Search the Market

    ; )
     
  11. droid_freud

    droid_freud Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANK YOU!!

    I had searched - just hadn't found. But then again - this is EXACTLY what these forums are for - thanks all.

    droid_freud
     
  12. katahdin

    katahdin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Another way to skin the cat, might be to use aurora - i believe you can limit it to search contacts. Useful for other searches.
     
    bangordroid likes this.
  13. eddieonofre

    eddieonofre Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey there is an app called Dialer One that can perform that, I have been using it for a while already and I like it a lot. Check it out on the market, its free.
    Sometimes get a little laggy. Hope answers ur question.
     
  14. tnstra

    tnstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    10

    Dialer One does an Excellent job. I have over 800 contacts and it looks any one of them up by any piece of data in the contact
     
  15. bangordroid

    bangordroid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried Superdialer and Dialer One and neither seem to search "all" contact fields. I am especially wanting to search company name and wish I could also search notes. Any ideas?:confused:
     
  16. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    204
    The install of Dialer One that I have installed searches company names (I don't know about notes because I don't use them,) company works fine.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  17. Murf300

    Murf300 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to everyone for suggesting this, I have needed a way to search contacts by the company name, nothing I had found would work with anything 2.1 or higher. This does the job.

    Thanks,
    Pat
     
  18. skipcooney

    skipcooney Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Install Google Gesture Search from the marketplace. Then just launch Gesture Search and write the first letter or two of the contact on the screen. Your contact will come up and you can hit the phone icon to dial. It's the quickest and easiest method to search contacts.

    edit -- Just tested it and Gesture Search will not search by company name.
     
  19. bob_54

    bob_54 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I figured out how to have Dialer One will search the Company field for me.

    Menu>Settings>T9 Settings>Advanced Search

    After I selected 'Always' it began to provide search results from the Company field. It is only showing the contact name(s) for the company name typed in. Doesn't show the contact(s) AND company name.

    This also seems to be providing search results from the Notes field on the quick test I did. Like above though, it is only displaying the Contact name based on my search entry. It isn't displaying what my search string is.

    Hope this makes sense.

    Maybe in a future release they will allow the search results field to be displayed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...