Droid practically useless with Pioneer AVIC D3


Last Updated:

  1. Heliskier59

    Heliskier59 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Several serious issues with the Bluetooth connectivity between the droid and the Pioneer AVIC D3 which utilizes the BTB 200 bluetooth module....

    1. Cannot transfer any contacts to the head unit with the current BT pairing. There is no option from the contacts, there is no workable option from the headunit. I even tried exporting the contact list to the sd card as a vcf file and then use a bluetooth file transfer app to send it to the head unit without success. As soon as I select phonebook transfer on the head unit the bt connection is lost. Conversely if I try to initiate the bt connection by file transfer it doesn't work either.

    2. Voice dialing does not work!!!! Putting 1 and 2 together means NO hands free capability whatsoever....the droid is a cell phone, isn't it? Isn't the NUMBER ONE safety concern these days about REQUIRING hands free capability? Where is the cooperation between motorola and pioneer?

    3. Adding insult to injury is that the device does not autoconnect either... which means I have to pull up the bluetooth settings menu EACH TIME I get into the car and re-connect. I sure hope someone from Google, Motorola and or Pioneer looks at these forums and does something about this major defect......
     

    Advertisement
  2. R1Lover

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I get mine to connect properly, but the droid will reboot in the middle of calls... I can however get the bluetooth audio to work great... but the phone keeps rebooting and shutting down at random times when using the phone.

    Anyone know what's up here or a fix maybe?
     
  3. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    Random reboots is not normal check with VZ tech support, imo. Does it only happen using bluetooth?
     
  4. R1Lover

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    It only happens with the Pioneer Avic D3 while using bluetooth and during a call.

    It works great with the Lexus and other bluetooth devices as well as the audio on the pioneer.

    I'm assuming there is a glitch between the pioneer and the droid?
     
  5. discohornet

    discohornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really think you have a valid complaint. But I don't think any of these people have any interest in browsing tons of forums to help their customers. You should find customer service forum for these companies (I know google has a website for it) and make your voice heard. When you do, please post the link so we can star it (on google anyways) to try and speed up any resolution.

    It's really embarassing that simple phone things don't work with the droid.
     
  6. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    Sounds like it, dunno. Might check Motorola support forums.
     
  7. R1Lover

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I have, just saw this thread and thought I would see if anyone here had any luck on a fix.

    Thanks anyway
     
  8. binglejellsx2

    binglejellsx2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    While I do believe these serious issues should be looked into, I doubt either of these companies have the time/money/resources to test every combination of devices to be interoperable with each other. Maybe it's the head unit that is not using a standard form of connecting.

    As an example, I use the Alpine Blackbird II to get Bluetooth connectivity in my vehicles. My old LG Chocolate, however, would not properly sync the contacts to the GPS system. It turns out that the Chocolate was the culprit. The on-screen dialing feature did work, though. Since then, I've connected quite a few phones and they all sync the contacts properly, including the Droid.

    Lastly, I believe the 2.0.1 update to the OS was supposed to resolve some issues in how the contacts are uploaded to the other devices. Unfortunately, I'm sorry to hear that this update does not help with your device. Your best bet would be to contact all parties involved individually. GL.
     
  9. scutzi128

    scutzi128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    My droid works pretty good with my d3....it auto connects and does not restart. However I cannot transfer contacts like you said.
     
  10. Droidophile

    Droidophile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    5
    Not really a Droid Issue.

    The AVIC D3 and the BTB-200 are old. Way way old in technology years. Pioneer does not care nor will they supply any updates for the D3. They would rather you buy new. New ones are much more nicer and do not require an octopus of external boxes like the BTB. The only thing the AVIC D3 does ok with is iPOD control. Other than that, it's actually a crappy unit. Laggy, controls in the wrong areas, settings under wrong menus, useless Shuffle button, need an engineer degree to install a wallpaper, ancient navigation, etc. Much like anything from Kenwood too. Can you tell I own one?
     
  11. scutzi128

    scutzi128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds about right lol but it gets the job done.
     
  12. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    sounds like you need a new stereo. my pioneer 7000bt works great with the droid.
     
  13. atmis

    atmis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Droid also works fine with my AVIC-F900BT (pretty much the '08 version of the D3).
    In fact, the contacts transferred as (firstname-lastname) - which is much better for voice recognition than the (last,first) that happened with my blackberry.

    Might want to check if you have the latest bluetooth software installed for your D3.
     
  14. mihalich

    mihalich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    44
    The bluetooth phonebook transfer issue has been well documented, and acknowledged by Google. This next update (which was supposed to be yesterday but now who knows when it will be) is supposed to correct the issue. Nobody has really stated exactly what the bug is. It seems to work with some stereos and not with others.

    Since you haven't mentioned this, and nobody else has asked, you are sure you're clicking the "allow phonebook access" button in the droid notification bar, when the stereo tries to connect to it right? You only have to do this once, and then click the always allow this device to connect checkbox. You have to get to this button to allow access quickly, as the stereo will time out, and give up trying...at least my Kenwood DNX6140 does anyway.

    -Joe
     
  15. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82
    I have the exact same issue with my Droid and AVIC-D3. I can receive phone calls and listed to audio all day long, but as soon as I attempt to make an out going call my phone does a hard reset.

    I find it hard to believe its Pioneers fault on this, sure its old hardware, but every other phone (including all Blackberry's) worked flawlessly. I would assume a simple change in the OS on the phone would fix the issue.
     
  16. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I second this...if a "BT" firmware update is even available. Droid paired flawlessly w/ my AVIC-700BT however I did perform a "BT-only" firmware update, which is separate from the main firmware.

    The process is a little different than one may think. I had to "import" the phonebook from the AVIC, rather than "exporting" it from the Droid.

    FWIW, I had issues pairing with my Garmin 360, until I did a "BT firmware" upgrade for the Garmin...again, it was a separate piece of software from the main firmware.
     
  17. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82
    How do you do a firmware update on the D3?
     
  18. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Pioneer USA - Support

    Knowledgebase: Car Product - Navigation
    How to pair most Bluetooth telephones with an older Navigational unit not supporting Bluetooth.How to pair most Bluetooth telephones with an older Navigational unit not supporting Bluetooth.
    This will cover the *AVIC-N1, *AVIC-N2, *AVIC-N3, *AVIC-D1, and *AVIC-D2
    *CD-BTB100 or CD-BTB200 required


    How to pair most Bluetooth telephones with *AVIC-N1, *AVIC-N2, *AVIC-N3, *AVIC-D1, *AVIC-D2
    *CD-BTB100 or CD-BTB200 required

    There is only one way to pair Bluetooth cell phones with Pioneer AVIC-N1, AVIC-N2, AVIC-N3, AVIC-D1, and AVIC-D2. These
    units will display it as EXT TEL. Most cell phones should work. If method does not work, unfortunately the cell phone will not
    pair with the Pioneer AVIC-N1, AVIC-N2, AVIC-N3, AVIC-D1, and AVIC-D2. (Most PDA and Smartphones may not properly pair
    or function properly)
    Cell phone finding AVIC-N1, AVIC-N2, AVIC-N3, AVIC-D1, AVIC-D2.

    1. Power on AVIC-N1, AVIC-N2, AVIC-N3, AVIC-D1, and AVIC-D2. and source to EXTERNAL TEL
    a. Press and release JOYSTICK button
    b. Touch FUNCTION EXT
    c. Touch FUNCTION 1
    d. Touch and hold SEND until C.OPEN appears

    2. In the cell phones Bluetooth menu
    a. (This will vary due to different manufacturers, but please look for closest match, it might be under options
    or menu) Select new paired device, add device, add headset search for devices, etc.
    b. Wait as the phone searches for the PIONEER BT UNIT or PIONEER BT UNIT 2
    c. After it completes the search, select PIONEER BT UNIT or PIONEER BT UNIT 2
    d. It will ask you for a password, enter 0000
    e. Select YES to authorize and select YES to connect to PIONEER BT UNIT or PIONEER BT UNIT 2

    3. From the headunit
    a. Touch BACK
    b. Touch FUNCTION 2
    c. Touch SEND

    4. Congratulations you have successfully paired and registered cell phone to AVIC-N1, AVIC-N2, AVIC-N3, AVIC-D1, and AVIC-D2.!
    Attachments:There are no attachments for this solution.




    The OP may need to upgrade.

    The AVIC 710BT is only $489...looks like there is a downtrend in pricing. I got my 700BT for $350 at the bottom of one price swing:

    Amazon.com: Pioneer AVIC-X710BT 5.8-Inch In-Dash Navigation A/V Receiver with CD Player and Bluetooth: Automotive
     
  19. icstars989

    icstars989 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    7
    I dont believe the D3's ever had a firmware update. They got new disc's but that was about it.
     
  20. Droidophile

    Droidophile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    5
    You don't. And you will never be able to. The devs have moved on to newer and better units. Our D3's are pretty much Smithsonian Museum candidates now. Frankly the new Pioneers are amazing! They should do something awesome like use Android for the OS next.

    Mark my words. YOU WILL see Android in a car head unit from a big maker someday.
     
  21. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I dont see why not...they run on WinCE now. I'm sure someone could port it over. While I-go is really nice NAV software, imagine Sat-view google maps on 7" screen, w/weather overlay.
     
  22. Heliskier59

    Heliskier59 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
  23. mickskillz

    mickskillz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got my Avic D3 and BTB 200 to work just fine with my Droid Incredbile.. only thing was that i had to send contact over one at a time for them to transfer....
     
  24. El Blacksheep

    El Blacksheep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    33
    Sucks to hear your pioneer system doesn't play nicely with your Droid.

    I guess I got lucky. Ford SYNC plays well with my Droid. All my contacts transferred over with ease, it auto-connects, pauses my music during calls, plays non-call audio through my speakers (including Pandora and Navigation), and so on.
     
  25. kevin_msu

    kevin_msu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    speaking as someone that has the pioneer d3...

    actually the iPod controls are pretty crappy too lol.
    there is a touch screen, you would think they would give you an alphabet .. want Stone Temple Pilots? hit "S" .... NOPE. you start at AC/DC and click click click click down to "S" (or click up as its faster, unless you want to hear some Metallica, dead in the middle and click click click it SUCKS)

    and the Nav sucks. Its way wrong most of the time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...