droid roms?


Last Updated:

  1. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know any cool roms out there for the moto droid. i got the 2.1 update if that matters? please help!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Bugless Beast and CyanogenMod are the two best ROMs in my opinion. NexBeast is a themed and optimized version of Bugless Beast and it is REALLY nice! That would be my personal recommendation as it is a fantastic ROM and what I am currently running on my phone.
     
  3. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok but i tried to get it on my droid and it dont wanna boot ... im confused
     
  4. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Where are you in the process? You're rooted right? What recovery are you using? I recommend using Clockwork Recovery. Download ROM manager from the market (free version works...paid version is much more robust and offers additional ROMs/Kernels for download.

    Make sure you wipe data/cache before loading any new ROM. You will have problems if you don't but you will lose your data. You can always get Titanium Backup from the market (really useful app).
     
  5. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok well i got the titanium back up already... but here goes nothing
     
  6. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Check out the NexBeast Thread as I'm sure by now, every possible installation problem has been discussed. Make a backup before you change anything (like the ROM or Kernel especially).

    Good Luck!
     
  7. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    so do i just put the zip file on the rom manager???
     
  8. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    cant get anything to work need more help
     
  9. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
    You never answered the questions above...Are you rooted? What recovery are you using? How are you trying to flash? (Update.zip, Nandroid Backup, one of the Rom installers from the market?)
     
    UBRocked likes this.
  10. riffdex

    riffdex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    32
    I been using Bugless Beast. I've only used like 2 ROMS but Bugless Beast works fine so I have no desire to try them all out. If it aint broke dont fix it imo :)
     
  11. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Sorry...had to get a couple of hours of sleep. You put the zip file on the root of your sd card. If you are using SPRecovery, you HAVE TO rename the file to update.zip. If you are using Clockwork, you don't have to rename the file.

    In SPRecovery, you have to click on "allow update.zip" (or something like that...it's been awhile), then you have to install update.zip. In Clockwork, you just have to choose the option to "install .zip from sd card" and then choose the ROM you want to load.
     
  12. Arte Suave

    Arte Suave Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
  13. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0


    i am really lost cuz i cant find the root folder and clockwork doesnt work on my phone. any other help??
     
  14. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    Do you have a file manager on your phone? If not go get Root Explorer in the market (it is a paid app but well worth the couple bucks).

    What do you mean clockwork won't work on your phone? What kind of error are you getting?
     
  15. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am getting : an error occured while attempting to run privileged commands!
     
  16. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    now root explorer wont word cuz of ussues with superuser
     
  17. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    Ok are you rooted?
     
  18. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    thought i was..., im starting to think not...how can i tell
     
  19. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    Do you have a Super User app in your apps drawer?
     
  20. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes
     
  21. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    hmmmm... Ok try this:

    Open the super user app and touch all of the entries that are in it to clear them... then try to run some of your root applications again (i.e. Root Explorer and Rom Manager...) when it prompts you to allow root access make sure the remember this option is checked and then click allow...
     
  22. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is nothing when i open the app?
     
  23. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
  24. jeff8732

    jeff8732 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I'm giving up nothing work ..... now just go get everything back to the way I had it.......
     
  25. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    Did you try the link? What part didn't work for you?
     

Share This Page

Loading...