1. In regards to recently combined carrier specific root forums, if your device forum was affected, please see this poll/thread!

Droid Tethering


  1. joscon

    joscon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Advertisements
  2. thegreen

    thegreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    PA
    Just curious- How can we be sure that VZW cannot tell that PDAnet is being used? (assuming we do so w/out a tethering plan, violating the TOS)
    I'd hate to have my plan cancelled...
     
  3. doc832

    doc832 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Well as I consider the DROID phone to replace my Moto W755 I do have some issues. I really need to use this as my internet at home. Buying the extended business plan I should be able to tether without a prob. However, is there away to get around the service altogether? Not use VZW network?
    Just curious and ignorant.
    doc832
     
  4. kcplayful77

    kcplayful77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    I tethered today using pdanet without a problem. I even called verizon first inquiring about their plan which is ridiculous what they want you to pay.

    This is a great backup plan if your net isn't working.
     
  5. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    michigan, usa
    please explain. what is tethering?
     
  6. addyct

    addyct Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Just set up PdaNet, and it seems to work great so far. this is my speed with one bar of 3g in my bunker of a living room.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. addyct

    addyct Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
  8. Bolaz

    Bolaz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Tethering is when you hook up your phone to your computer and use it as a wireless card (modem) to get on the net
     
  9. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    michigan, usa
    ooooo. i need to figure out how to do this. my internet at home through verizon is $65 a month for 5g. and it is pretty slow! anywhere with simple to follow instructions on doing this with a usb cable?
     
  10. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Location:
    Illinois
    Lol, did you read the second post in this thread?
     
  11. bl80

    bl80 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Can Verizon block this App from functioning in the future?
     
  12. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    I'd recommend against it. If you're racking up all that data, technically Verizon CAN'T say anything against you, but if they have some way to tell that you're tethering and you're using 10-15GB+ of bandwidth a month, they probably will get a little suspicious.
     
  13. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    If they could, I think T-Mobile would have blocked it from functioning on the G1 as well. :)
     
  14. princess910

    princess910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    I've tried the tethering thru pdanet, got it to work both thru the usb and bluetooth only to have to keep reinstalling everytime I shut it down and try to restart. Any ideas? I'm using windows vista. Verizon techs tried to help me for hours today, but can't figure it out.
     
  15. doc832

    doc832 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Well set the tether up last nite and it works awesome. I finally figured it out that I have to open both the phone and computer to make it happen. However very happy with the speed. Good back up for those days the other systems are down.
     
  16. dakoop

    dakoop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    I can't download it on my laptop, says file is corrupt?
    Windows xp
     
  17. doc832

    doc832 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Just try removing the program that is corrupt and try reloading from the web site : June Fabrics PDA Technology Group

    I had no prob with any of my machines. Running XP on 3 and Vista on one.
    Hope this works.
    Doc
     
  18. bens_reality

    bens_reality New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Even BEFORE I dumped the Lame AT&T SOFTWARE that came on my HTC Touch Pro I was able to find a FREE application on the net that shared my internet connection(WIFI router)...I installed it and used it with no problems for internet access for all my home WIFI enabled devices.

    I've recently considered switching to the new Motorola droid Phone because of it's slightly bigger screen, but I can't deal with the keyboard feel at all...Come on Motorola, Really??? Have they check the competition at all?? The buttons feel super firm and it's kinda hard to tell how hard you need to press the buttons in order for them to work.

    I was thinking it's just a matter of time before Someone designs a GOOD phone with a nice keyboard running Droid, and maybe I should start checking what's available for the Droid OS... Well after reading these post I'm thinking I'll just wait till 2010 for WM 7 and run that on my existing phone, which will be three years old by then. The strange thing is the Best Buy rep here locally said in the last year he hasn't sold ANY WM phones, and that NO ONE liked WM phones... So can someone tell me what Droid does that a two year old WM phone didn't do ?
     
  19. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    I racked up 500 Megabytes in 2 hours tethering with my droid they called the next day I nearly shat brix, it was about my plan I forgot to pay the bill :/, verizon can suck it there is no way they can tell your tethering other than pure speculation determined from your bandwidth usage. They are just a dumbpipe made to look as if they actually can control content but they can't.
     
  20. Jaxx10

    Jaxx10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    why cant they have a mac user friendly USB tethering avail?!?!?!
     
  21. PJnc284

    PJnc284 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Tethering with PDAnet for occasional use should be fine but I wouldn't use it as a primary internet connection or stream/download a lot.

    Go over 5GB and there's a chance you'll get a call or letter from verizon. Read those Terms of Service very carefully.
     
  22. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    [​IMG]
     
  23. jhp45auto

    jhp45auto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Nice captain obvious..
     
  24. 4stars

    4stars Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    I am buying the droid, I too would like not to pay the extra $30.00 per month Verizon charges for teethering. If there is a way around this by using other systems as mentiioned here. I'd love to do it,
    If they can't find out a cancel you.
     
  25. opeyonline

    opeyonline Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Couple of questions, I'm assuming everyine paid the 30.00 for the full verison of PdaNet??

    I first was getting online using the trial version and getting a lot of pages timing out, and I had to refresh constantly to get anything to come through the browser. When a page would come through, only half of it would be in code and unreadable. Well I thought this was because of the trial version so I shelled out the 30.00 and got the full version but the same problems exist.
    I’m running windows 7 and signal is between 3 and 4 bars.

    Anyone else having this problem?


    Post #1 wOOt!
     

Share This Page