Droid vs. Droid X

Last Updated:

1. Curt941

Curt941 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hey guys, I am new to Android, coming from an iphone 3gs.

My wife and I will be switching over to verizon because it'll be cheaper for us, and I have a delima.

I can get a Droid X for $200 and then get my wife a phone, or get 2 Droids for $150.

At first I thought for sure I wanted the X, but i've been hearing about people overclocking original Droids to 1.2ghz, and isntalling froyo, rooting, custom roms etc. and I like the idea of being able to play around. I don't care about HD video or HDMI out, as I don't see myself using it much.

So my final question, do you guys think it would be better to go ahead and get 2 droids for $150 and then at the end of the year or next year when 4G comes to verizon, upgrade to the new super phone then, or get a Droid X now?

Thanks Guys

Advertisement
  2. William T Riker

William T Riker Well-Known Member

My personal opinion in your situation I would do the Droid x2

- you can root and you both get a sweet phone
    I wish they did the buy one get one when I got mine.

However in my current personal situation if I wasnt worrying about the wifes phone , I would get myself the Droid X for sure, the extra RAM would be really helpful all around. Supposedly they don't know if its an encrypted bootloader so its unsure if you will be able to load different roms and root but if they can and once they do Id rather have the bigger screen/ extra RAM.

3. Curt941

I should add that all I really use my phone for is calls, texting, email, web browsing, mapping, and if I can with froyo some tethering.

4. Curt941

Oh, and I just saw on wirefly I can get the droids for $19.99 a piece with a new verizon account. They don't have the $8/month insurance that is available when ordering through verizon's website. Can I add that later? Since i'm on the iphone i've never had cell phone insurance, so I'm new to that too, haha.

5. FrayAdjacent