Droid wifi and 3g - how to use smartly


Last Updated:

  1. knipknup

    knipknup Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am hitting a wall attempting to use my home wifi (or others for that matter).

    To be clear;

    • Yes, I can connect to my router and enter the wep code. I get an IP
    What I am experiencing is that when I turn on wifi and leave my cell connection on, the connections seem to conflict. Webpages result in no network, even though my settings show I am connected.

    I have tried putting the phone in airplane mode, then turning on wifi only. I get the connection but still no actual network.

    I get network with my laptop on the same router using wifi, so I really think it my phone.

    If I turn off wifi and turn the phone radio back on, viola, everything works.

    So how do I use wifi? The reason I would like to use wifi is for faster speed in moving files, etc.

    So the questions I have are;


    1. 3g and wifi connections conflicting - is this normal and how does one manage this without manually having to turn to airplane mode, then wifi on?
    2. are there specific settings that need tweaked to make wifi work with internet?
    3. is there an app that will automatically switch from 3g to wifi and back as I move into and out of range?
    Thanks for help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. JediJesus

    JediJesus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    11
    When i'm connected to a wifi area my 3g shuts off. I could of swore I had that option when I first setup the phone but I cant find it now. If I figure it out ill let you know. But wifi saves on battery compared to 3g.
     
  3. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    My 3G shuts off automatically when on WiFi as well. I wish I knew why this was happening to you. Do you have the same problem with all wireless networks, or just your home network?
     
  4. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    Not directly. In the battery use list in the settings menu, Wi-Fi is usually way up there with Display (I think Wi-Fi usually has around 11-12% for me). Wi-Fi CAN help you save battery though because if you can look up the information you need quicker, you can turn off the energy-sucking display that much sooner. :)

    And yes, my 3G/1x signal goes away when I turn on Wi-Fi and comes back when I'm not connected to a Wi-Fi hotspot.
     
  5. GDroid

    GDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you guys able to receive e-mails when on WiFi? I've had the same issue of my 3G icon dissappearing when WiFi is on, and once I go back to 3G, my e-mails start popping in.
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Though I do not, I can keep my WiFi all of the time. When I come home, my DROID will switch from 3G to WiFi without any issues. I can then leave home, and it will switch back to 3G ... all while using Pandora without it missing a beat. When I get to work, same thing. My DROID connects to my office's WAP, no problem. I have yet to use Airplane Mode even once.

    Just combed thru the wireless settings, and I'm not really seeing anything. Not much help, I know, just wanted you to know that your experience is NOT "normal".
     
  7. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I haven't actually noticed, now that you mention it. I'll try sending myself some e-mails from the computer while I'm on WiFi next time.
     
  8. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I can do anything (web, email, Market, Pandora) whether I am on 3G or WiFi ... no difference here.
     
  9. GDroid

    GDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you received an Exchange e-mail while on WiFi? I'll have to re-test this.
     
  10. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    knipknup, I recently had wireless network issues myself, though not specific to the Droid. I had to do a thourough cleansing & purging of my Windows XP office desktop to rid it of the damage done from a virus. This included reinstalling the Internet browser. When the browser was reinstalled, the network connection (LAN setting)defaulted to setting to the first IP address it was given. I then kept getting bumped off the network using WiFi on my lap top. I would have to go upstairs & reset the router every 20 minutes or so.
    Make sure all of your computers are set to "Automatically detect settings" under "LAN Settings", under "Connections", under "Internet Options".

    -Of course, this is in Micro$uck Windoze.
    S'all I know, but maybe it'll help.

    PK
     
  11. taz55

    taz55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    6
    I do have similar issues if I use the power control widget to turn on or off the antenna, this causes issues with wifi and gps until I reboot. Are you using that widget by any chance?
     
  12. leonsb3

    leonsb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    this same exact thing is happening to me... i have switched all my router settings around back and fourth so many times i can barely remember where i started.
    i can connect to wifi's all over the place except for home, which is the one place i desperately need it (bad reception), i would also like to echo the question of what settings others have so i can "try" to replicate it and see if its something i have messed up. i have a linksys wcg200 if that matters, and my laptop connects great too.

    thx,
     
  13. leonsb3

    leonsb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried the remote droid app that require you to enable wifi and it works great so i am convinced it works to some extent i just cant seem to get the web or market access...

    so here i sit perplexed at how amazing this device is by typing this message and navigating the forum all with my droid wireless over a wifi connection , the very thing i cant get to work.
     
  14. rlandon

    rlandon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem as OP and a few others. I have to reboot the phone in order to get it working again. Mail stops on wifi but works once I reboot the phone. The big problem for me is using Pandora or DroidLive music. If on 3G and I switch to wifi then it won't work unless a fresh reboot. It will then work, but only for a limited time (20-30 minutes). Something is not quite right with 2.0 and 2.0.1. I can't say yet on 2.1, but I hope it does fix this issue. I hate rebooting the phone just to get an app to work.

    I've mentioned this on other threads and forums and others have the same issue. It's the phone! Even took mine to local VZ store and they had no clue. They gave me the 1-888 number.
     
  15. justjosh

    justjosh Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    8
    Try using the app "wifi buddy" it will remember networks you have connected to in the past, including passwords and stuff. When you connect it will automatically turn on wifi and shut off 3g. Also, the app locale will automatically set up wifi to turn on in your house based on location services.
     
  16. KeithG

    KeithG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    3
    On the 23rd I started experiencing this as well. After 7 or 8 factory resets the issues persist. Basically the gtalk service will fail to reconnect over wifi. Google uses the XMPP connection as its push notifier. If gtalk is not connected any push information for the google apps stop working. It also gives me fits within the market. Apps scheduled to download won't until I switch back to 3g.

    The gtalk service complains of an ssl handshake timeout which causes it to fail to log back in.

    I've followed most of the anecdotal advice on airplane mode, rebooting, battery pulling. I even uninstalled all apps, and did hard resets via the settings > privacy > factory reset, as well has power + x method.

    Sometimes it does work over wifi.. and then it'll stop and will not be able to recover even after a reboot.

    I think its my ISP or one of its peering points causing it... as I even seem to experience timeouts and issues with other google services ... like google analytics, google talk widget in the gmail website .. etc.

    Or its something with my google account causing it to fail (but I would expect it to also exhibit these issues on the 3g connection as well at that point).

    I'm on Road Runner, btw. If the situation doesn't resolve itself, Monday I'll be making phone calls.

    Other apps like K-9 mail, don't have any issue on either connection.... it seems to just be confined to the google apps. And then any website that uses google services :p

    This issue may be wholly unrelated to the above issue, but the effective symptoms seem to be similar.

    --- update ---
    And magically since I decided to post.... all the local issues I was experiencing just disappeared. So I turned wifi back on, and sure enough everything is working again thru my wifi connection. So I'm chalking this up to a localized network related issue upstream that has now been fixed. :p
     
  17. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    11
    Guys let's be clear here. When connected to wifi at all (after obtaining IP but before connecting) the Droid will default to using WiFi for data. It is the same as with the iphone. The wifi non-connection issue is a very well known Android bug with some Wifi routers, particularly ones that are "open" and unsecured. Many have reported inputting in your static IP address, as well as using WEP encryption can resolve the issue.

    There are no fancy apps or tricks that will fix this issue for the time being. We'll just have to wait for a legitimate solution it looks like.
     
  18. KeithG

    KeithG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    3
    My issues have nothing to do with this.. but you wouldn't happen to have the bug report links handy would ya? :)
     
  19. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    11
  20. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    Idk what you guys are talking about but I'm going to speak in general terms of what I know about the relationships between the 4 Network types the droid is compatible with (IS-95, 1xRTT, 1xEVDO, and Wifi).

    1xRTT and IS-95 are the only two networks that can handle voice traffic for the carrier currently. I have no clue if when the 3G icon is up its displaying EVDO or 1x signal strength I wish this was somewhere. EVDO is data only, therefore when your on wifi displaying the 3G icon is pointless since all your data services are being pushed over wifi and the cell connection serves only for things that its needed for like voice and SMS services, I would guess the signal strength bars for the cell are switched to 1xRTT when wifi is active that would only make sense. The iPhone does the exact same thing except on the iPhone since its GSM/UMTS ALL there network types handle both data and voice so there's little confusion (Except raw GSM without GPRS installed). Ok that part addresses the network connectivity among the different networks.

    As for battery life, the battery life difference between EVDO (or "3G" as there forcefully ramming down our throats) and 1xRTT is minimal unless say your in a thick building and say EVDO is on 1900 and 1xRTT is on 850 then your phone is going to have up its power (phones automatically change there mW's on there radios when your signal turns bad) to connect to EVDO. Unlike the iPhone EVDO and 1xRTT are in the same radio really and are very similar, on the iPhone, 3G is a seperate radio that uses allot of juice to run, if you notice on the specs (for the droid) for talk time 3G and 2G talk time are no different most likely due to the fact that voice never goes over 3G (unless its GV but thats not what we are talking about here) and that its the same radio. Ok and that part addresses the battery life. If you've got conflicting responses or questions go ahead and shoot!
     
  21. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    11
    Finally someone who knows WTF they're talking about.
     
  22. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
  23. tjoebgen

    tjoebgen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    4
    Same here - emails stop working when I'm on WiFi. Brand new Droid.

    I sent myself mail - waited long time, nothing. I opened email app (original) and tried to get new mail - it told me my username and password didn't match. I went through settings to verify incoming and outgoing server settings - it told me that it couldn't connect to server. I turned WiFi off and repeated above steps. All mail came in, and I could verify account on incoming/outgoing servers.
     
  24. Optimus

    Optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    16
    Wifi is spotty on my Droid too. It connects for the most part but is generally slow at doing so. And last night it was on my wifi but couldn't pull down any data from it. I just left it alone, rebooted perhaps and eventually it was fine. I've just came to accept that the wifi connection and detection on these phones are iffy, my wife's Eris seems to handle it better.
     
  25. bigbee

    bigbee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    AT&T's 3G network is built with UMTS, which supports both data and circuit-switched voice. This is what enables simultaneous voice and data on their network. Your assertion that voice never goes over 3G is incorrect.
     

Share This Page

Loading...