Droid with Microphone headset


Last Updated:

  1. justchilln

    justchilln Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been searching all over and can't seem to find a straight forward answer. I can't seem to get my apple microphone headset to work with my Motorola Droid, do I have something set up wrong or is there no support for it??
     

    Advertisement
  2. justchilln

    justchilln Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow really 46 views and no help
     
  3. eraser

    eraser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    1. The fact that people have read your post does not mean they know the answer to your question.
    2. I have a Motorola Motorokr S9 stereo bluetooth headphones with a microphone. They work. The only thing that doesn't work is the button for voice dialing, but I can dial from the phone and talk through the headset.
     
  4. justchilln

    justchilln Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Easy man, was just anxious to figure this out, just thought it would of attracted a little more attention, thanks for the info though
     
  5. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't use a wired headset which is why I did not answer.
     
  6. justchilln

    justchilln Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I have some bluetooh headphones as well (Oakley O ROKR), at first try I couldn't get them to sync up with the droid but I have only tried twice maybe I missed something, but what really bothers me is that the mic is not picking up when Im trying to use my Apple Mic headphones with the droid. I used these all the time with my Env Touch and it would be disappointing if it wasn't supported by the droid.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. chris.h

    chris.h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have apple headphones with microphone from an iphone 3gs (i think...) that just has the single click button, not the volume buttons.

    The click will answer and hang up a call and the microphone works, but the click button will not load a search of any kind.

    The click WILL pause and play music in meridian if it's installed and the option is selected (it's selected by default). **edit**(when i turned off that option and was playing music in the music player the click was pausing/playing music

    So it seems that this is a software issue, maybe someone can write an app that integrates the click with voice search?

    Also, since meridian can pause and play with the click, maybe it can accept the other buttons from the newer ipod inline remote...
     
  8. cadGweep

    cadGweep New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm afraid that Android doesn't support it. According to most you can answer incoming calls but not make outgoing calls without physically touching the phone. This seems to be a major shortcoming since many older phones (like my LG VX8300) will prompt you for voice commands via bluetooth, confirm the command, person you're calling, etc., all handsfree.

    Here is the Google Android code development thread that someone else pointed me too. Other new DROID owners are weighing in on this issue by signing in and "starring" the thread (upper left corner after sign in):
    Issue 1181 - android - Feature Request: Voice confirmation for Voice Dialer - Project Hosting on Google Code
     
  9. FireChief

    FireChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    13
    The Droid has a 3.5 jack.. and it has a phone (of course).. So, are there a set of headphones w/mic that will work with the Droid??

    I am asking about a headphone/mic set that plugs in to the 3.5 jack.. not a Bluetooth set..

    FC
     
  10. justchilln

    justchilln Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah that's the problem I have the wired Mic apple headphones is not working with the droid
     
  11. FireChief

    FireChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    13
    The Droid is such an awesome phone/device.. it's a shame they didn't take advantage of that 3.5 mm jack and include a mic capability... ouch..

    oh well.. can't have EVERYTHING..

    FC
     
  12. chris.h

    chris.h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    My apple headphones work. They're the ones with the mic and one single click button. The click button has worked for pausing/playing in music and listen. The microphone works too. The click button also answers and hangs up calls, it will not activate voice search however.
     
  13. metric152

    metric152 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been using the apple headphones with my droid and they work just fine. I have the simple 3G version that doesn't come with volume controls.
     
  14. FireChief

    FireChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    13
    I was using the latest version of the Apple headphones.. the one with the volume controls AND pause/play switch..

    So, this is good news... The plug is built to handle the mic set up.. cool..

    Now, just have to find the right headset..

    thanks for the update/info..
     
  15. BLOWNCO

    BLOWNCO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    22

    my apple headphones form my 3g work great mic and all i can even click it and play or pause music
     
  16. wsbsteven

    wsbsteven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    11
    My BB Pearl wired headset works great with Droid, mic and all.
     
  17. FireChief

    FireChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    13
    So, it sounds like it's just the LATEST generation of the iTouch/phone headphones that won't work with the Droid...

    And, again, this is the set WITH the volume control AND pause/play buttons.

    Cool... Good news.. At first I was afraid that the plug itself was not configured (physically) to handle a mic..
     
  18. Watashi

    Watashi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Probably another attempt by apple to make their hardware proprietary.
     
  19. Watashi

    Watashi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1

    Also, This ^ it is illegal in california and other states to have any hands on interaction with your phone while driving. If I get a ticket for this I'm forwarding the bill to Google.
     
  20. eddieonofre

    eddieonofre Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I added myself to that Google needs to fix this otherwise bye bye Droid
     
  21. FireChief

    FireChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    13
    I picked up a set of Apple headphones with the mic..

    They work GREAT. I don't much care for the BlueTooth earpiece anyway.. I have a JawBone but prefer these good ole headphones anyday..

    I am in business with this Droid now...
     
  22. hak5darren

    hak5darren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    anyone know if the Droid will support an external microphone during video recording?
     
    drdick likes this.
  23. Jorenm

    Jorenm Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 3g headset works. I'm not sure if the click button works.

    One problem I've had is the phone doesn't seem aware that I'm using headphones\mic, so the proximity sensor stays active, as does the built in mic.

    I've only noticed this being a problem once, so maybe it was an isolated bug.
     
  24. aaron19953

    aaron19953 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    11
  25. FireChief

    FireChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    13
    I wonder if your conditioned was isolated. I have the 3g headsets and the mic works well, as does the 'click button.'

    (If someone calls while I have the headset plugged in, the click button "answers" the call. However, the click button toggles the mute switch DURING a call. On a side note, the click button pauses and plays the MP3 song on the music player when there is no call. If I am listening to music and a call comes in, the click button answers the call, then toggles the mute as mentioned above. As soon as the call is over, the click button goes back to pause/play for the music).

    On my Droid, the proximity sensor is disabled when I have my headset plugged in.

    During phone use the internal mic is disabled, but if I switch to speaker phone the internal mic starts working again and the headset (earphones and headphone mic both) is/are disabled.

    This 'set up' has worked well for me so far.

    The best improvement that could be made in my opinion would be to allow the use of a headset like the 4g iPhone headset, that is to include a volume control on the 'click' button. Perhaps that's a software update? :) ...hoping anyway..

    FC
     

Share This Page

Loading...