Droid X does not like my wireless router...Support


Last Updated:

  1. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
    I have a DIR-655 and just got my Droid X. It will not maintain a connection to it.

    I tried all the obvious things... Forced it to G only, tried using the guest zone with different encryption.

    Am I alone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    38
    Crap, I just bought that router too lol, I did get more powerful antennas though that will maybe help.
     
  3. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
    This appears to be a bigger issue. It does not like my secondary wifi access point downstairs either.

    I am going to test it out at my parents' house and a few other places with wifi...

    This is discouraging.

    It can connect to my wifi but it doesn't maintain a connection. It just stops working... Shows it's connected, but can't load pages, etc.

    If I turn the wifi off, everything is fine.
     
  4. Nellibly

    Nellibly New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Head over to Motorola forums and you will find 80+ pages of wifi router issues. The biggest problem is neither Droid or Motorola will formally address it. The only common denominator here is Motorola Droid phones. Somebody needs to fix this now. Crashed my whole network.
     
    SFWB likes this.
  5. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
    Thanks for the reply. I just checked over there and I see it's quite a widespread issue.

    This is beyond disappointing.
     
  6. 1977sjr

    1977sjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Add me to this list. I have a D-Link DIR-601 router that I just bought and although my X will recognize it and display excellent signal strength, it won't connect. It will start to say "authenticating" but will then disconnect immediately. I'm not able to connect. I know the phone's WiFi is working because I found other local (weaker) networks which I connected to although they booted me off early and often. Frustrating indeed...I don't know if it's a router issue or an X issue...
     
  7. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
    Very strange... I stumbled across something using Google and downloaded an app called wififixer. Now that I am running that, my wifi works.
     
    sjones765 likes this.
  8. sjones765

    sjones765 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    50

    +1
     
  9. 1977sjr

    1977sjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    I changed my security settings from WPA to WEP and low and behold, my WiFi works brilliantly now. It connected immediately and I'm getting terrific speed compared to 3G. It's lightning fast. I know the X is compatible with WPA/WPA2 so I don't know what the deal is there. I think I'll still have to fiddle with the settings more...
     
  10. ylexot

    ylexot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    405
    Had a similar issue. Router was set for WPA, X connected fine, but couldn't browse anywhere. Looked it up online and found the suggestion to switch to WPA2. That worked for me.
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    I'm using WPA2 and it works fine, but I had to disable the "wireless mac filter" until after I had a connection, then add the mac address of my phone, then turn the mac filter back on.

    I have a Linksys WRT160Nv3.

    I doubt disabling the mac filter is a big problem as long as you have it secured. An unsecured router means your neighbors have free internet. ;)
     
  12. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wifi isn't perfect with the wififixer app, but it's usable. It still craps out periodically but this program gets it going again.

    Apparently, my unit is still running the .516 system version. I read that .604 was pushed out OTA. Does anyone have it?
     
  13. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
    Got it fixed...

    Apparently the DX does not like WPA/WPA2 with AES. Once I changed it to TKIP it works fine.
     
  14. B0red04

    B0red04 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Problems here two, Connects but is extremely slow. I have 6mbps cable connection so it shouldn't be slow at all
     
  15. AubieJones

    AubieJones Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    9
    My problem is that I use a dual frequency Netgear router that has 2.4 ghz wireless G and 5 ghz wireless N. The DX doesn't even see the N which I've since read it can only use the 2.4 ghz frequency. With that said, I could connect to G just fine and it would work for about 5-10 minutes then it would drop to the speed of a 56k baud modem (if that fast). The only way I could correct it was to reboot the phone then it would work for another 1-10 minutes or so.

    I then ran across this thread and have tried the wifi fixer app. So far it is helping with the issue, fingers crossed.
     
  16. Doit2it

    Doit2it Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    467
    I've got the TRENDnet TEW-652BRP and my Eris HATED it and the TRENDnet I had before (upgraded from G to N). It would only stay connected for 5 minutes then I had to toggle WiFi off and on to get another 5 minute connection...I NEVER used it, just 3G. I tried switching to TKIP, but no love. I've had the Droid X drop once or twice, but it's MUCH better than my Eris was. Guess it's what I get for buying a cheap router.
     
  17. mikeyfl

    mikeyfl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    mine play together fine.
     
  18. sparky07

    sparky07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine is doing the same thing on my Netgear router. It says authenticating, then is will disconnect. I tried wififixer with no success either.
     
  19. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
  20. ntwrick

    ntwrick New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This works for me too... changed my Netgear WNR3500 from AES to TKIP and everything works fine now.
     
  21. CarsMatic

    CarsMatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just posted to the above thread but yes... I'm also having Wifi issues. I'm running Airport Extreme. It will connect for a few minutes and then just disconnect and reconnect again after a few seconds... all while I'm sitting two feet from my wireless router w/ full bars. Irritating indeed. :mad:
     
  22. backwater

    backwater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    can somebody explain this? i see that my router uses WPA2 with AES... so you're saying you change the router's settings? would this mess up my family's wifi?
     
  23. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Same here just changed it last night to WEP and so far so good.
     
  24. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    It doesn't fix the problem. Matter of fact it didn't fix anything that I can tell.:(.
     
  25. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Try changing to WEP if it's not using it already.
     

Share This Page

Loading...