Droid X Keyboard now available for ALL PHONES!


Last Updated:

  1. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28

    Advertisement
  2. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    86
    This will be a tough one for EVO owners. Even Swype is missing them. The developer will need to CUSTOM make it for the EVO.
     
  3. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yeah and for those with trackballs, I'm sorry. And for those who think they don't need arrow keys, I agree they take up a LOT of real estate, but honestly, you need them. It's FAR easier to get exact cursor placement with arrow keys. Apple's keyboard has this ability to drag the cursor but I prefer the arrow keys now after having them.

    I don't really MIND the Stock EVO/Sense keyboard, but I really like the idea of multi-touch. :D
     
  4. B-Ran

    B-Ran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    81
    If you want the arrows in swype... open up a text field for typing, and swype from the swype button in the bottom left corner of the screen to the button directly next to in on the right (ABC and Symbol button). That will open up the input menu with arrows.
     
  5. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    86
    ^nice
     
  6. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    uh, i love this keyboard. it's the first one i've tried that didn't automatically correct a lower case i to an upper case I with auto caps disabled. something i don't like, though, is that it doesn't auto correct punctuations, ie isn't would just be isnt. the correct punctuation doesn't even highlight. wonder what's up with that.

    edit: holy crap balls. if you uncheck "show suggestions" and leave auto-correct enabled, you get more screen real estate while still getting auto-corrections. punctuations are now fixed as well this way. yup, loves it. perfect.

    edit2: going back to checking "show suggestions" now has the punctuations highlighted if i don't type one. wonder what happened there. oh well lol it works.

    edit3: &amp needs to be edited to just &
     
  7. gopens

    gopens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    29

    Please help me understand this. So your saying that the Evo does not support multi touch? kind of like how the Moment does does not support multi touch? this makes sense for the Evo because I have a hell of a time typing to fast on the Evo and getting misspelled words. My old Hero had NO problems at all with my typing speed.

    Why would HTC make the Hero with multi touch and then make there flagship phone without. Kinda backwards don't ya think. But maybe I am confused.

    Can this be fixed with a software update or is it hardware. Sorry for the new questions
     
  8. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    the keyboard that comes on the Evo doesn't support multitouch. it's just a keyboard, so yes it could be enabled with an update since the phone itself supports multitouch.

    swype doesn't support multitouch either. this is the first keyboard i've tried on the Evo that does.

    the HTC keyboard needs a vast over haul. disabling of auto-caps needs to be added, and multitouch support for sure. i actually have an HTC keyboard mod that enables me to disable auto-caps, but it still does it for the letter "i". this Droid X keyboard is also the first that disables that disables it. (yes, even swype capitalizes "i" with auto-caps disabled)

    the Droid X keyboard reminds me of the one on the iPhone.
     
  9. Droidone

    Droidone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    118
    how are you guys installing this? I have tried to install LatinIME over and over and it keeps saying cannot install this. I am not rooted
     
  10. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    It's just the keyboard, not the whole phone. :)
     
  11. jsweets13

    jsweets13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    i am having problems as well, i downloaded the file and when i select the file it says" file cannot be found".. any suggestions?
     
  12. evo-owner2

    evo-owner2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    what's so good about multi touch??? I saw the video but I don't see when I will ever need such option
     
  13. Droidone

    Droidone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    118
    ok I just figured out you have to remove your original keyboard on the evo. I can't do that because I am not rooted. oh well. I thought it was too good to be true without root.
     
  14. Roadblock

    Roadblock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    27
    Um, everything I read says no root needed?


    *Update*

    http://www.mediafire.com/?jmllywoz51h

    This one worked. It says installed on my EVO, I did NOT remove my old keyboard. I went to settings and it's there too, Multi-touch Keyboard....
     
    shokher99 and Droidone like this.
  15. raqball

    raqball Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    155
    Yup.... Love this KB.... 10X better than stock..

    :thumbs up:
     
  16. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    wut? no you don't. i have 4 keyboards installed on my phone now lol

    stock htc
    htc ime mod
    swype
    droid x

    all i did was sent the megaupload link to my email, then i opened my email and then the link on my phone. typed in the code and such, and downloaded straight to my phone. then i used appInstaller to find the apk. this is how i install almost all apks that aren't on the market (if i'm at work). i even used ES file explorer to change the file name to droidx_key.apk before installing. worked flawlessly. not sure why some of you are having issues. no root necessary. my phone is not rooted.
     
    acuzerfdw and Upright like this.
  17. gopens

    gopens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    29
    Dang another newb question. So I just downloaded it to my laptop then transfered the file over to my Evo. Then what do I do to install it. I have only installed things from the Market which was simple. I found the file in the folder on my phone--but how do I open it. I brought up my text client and long-pressed in the text area and nothing popped up to change my text input.
     
  18. raqball

    raqball Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    155
    If you cant install id make sure you drag and drop it to the root of the SD card... Then use Astro or other file manager to open and install it..
     
  19. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    you need to download and install appInstaller from the market. this enables you to install apks.

    edit: i wonder if we can install and run motoblur. hmmm
     
  20. VGPOP

    VGPOP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    64
    I have EVO. My girlfriend Incredible. Both Android phones, right? When i send link to install it, on both occassions it said THIS IS NOT AN ANDROID PHONE.


    ummmm, WHAT????
     
  21. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    install steps
    1. send megaupload link to your email address
    2. open email
    3. click on link to open in browser
    4. enter security code, hit download file
    5. wait for time to expire, hit regular download
    6. it downloads
    7. use appInstaller to find the Droid X keyboard apk (it's called "Multi-touch keyboard").
    8. install

    enabling steps
    1. hit menu > settings > language and keyboard
    2. check "multi-touch keyboard"
    3. open messages, search bar or anything that requires the keyboard
    4. long press in input box
    5. select input method
    6. select multi-touch keyboard

    it doesn't get any easier than that honestly.
    if you still can't get it, then i don't think you should be messing around with stuff like this.
     
  22. Roadblock

    Roadblock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    27

    Well actually it depends WHAT version you got. The first one I tried said it couldnt install. Then I got the one that guy in the other forum tweaked, updated etc, and it installed/works.
     
  23. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    which version would this be? link please
    edit: better yet, what tweaks were made?

    edit2: are you talking about repacked-signed.apk? that's the one i got.

    ^yeah that should be the one that everyone is getting.
     
  24. seretogis

    seretogis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    10
    Holy crap, fantastic tip -- thanks!
     
  25. J03

    J03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    66
    Man i literally just registered to xda forums for this file and posted in the lagging keyboard thread.

    So far i am having mixed results with this keyboard. I can definitely type noticeably faster however this fails in that i am typing too fast for it. It constantly misses letters that pop up as having been hit. Then up until this reply for some reason, any forum replies have been horrendously laggy. Its ok right now but 10 min ago it was at least 3 letters behind me at all times.

    Also of course i miss the arrow keys but i do see a voice button which is great. I haven't tested that out yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...