Droid X waiting at home, what should I do first?

Last Updated:

1. elb0w

elb0w Member This Topic's Starter

Soo I just got a Droid X and I want to load up Froyo. I downloaded the update.zip from here "intomobile.com/2010/08/22/leaked-droid-x-android-2-2-rom-prompts-a-cease-desist-from-motorola/".

I am a developer so I am not so worried about the technical stuff, but I want to do this safely so I have come to the experts.

Here are my questions / concerns that hopefully someone can alleviate for me.

1) What steps should I take first in going to 2.2?
    2) Should I root my phone before running this update?
    3) Will I be able to get the OTA update if I do this? unkown?
    4) What can go wrong?
    5) If something does go wrong how hard is it to restore to 2.1 and what would give me a chance of bricking my phone.

I have moded a wii and my old bb storm so I am vaguely familiar with some of these methods, just want to do things properly. Thank you to anyone that can respond to any of these.

Advertisement
  2. DontEatPoop

DontEatPoop Well-Known Member

The first thing you do with your phone is to do something that might brick your phone?

3. elb0w

elb0w Member This Topic's Starter

Sorry meant this to go in all-things-root can someone del? Im re-posting there

4. Ace0spades808

Ace0spades808 New Member

Semi-brick bro. If it doesn't work it just boots into recovery and he can either go from there or flash the sbf. A true brick is when it is impossible to recover it in any means.

Anyway, it's near impossible to brick from this update.

I say go ahead and do the update, then root it using the droid 2 method, and then I would download the bootstrap and rom manager and get flyx, the prop mods, and then I would even go as far as to download the Tranquility rom (removes almost all of the motorola blur).

5. deadinside

deadinside Well-Known Member

3) Will I be able to get the OTA update if I do this? unkown?