1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Dropbox + Media Gallery


Last Updated:

  1. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    I interact with my Dropbox files from my Droid quite a bit. Is there a way to have access to the pictures on my Dropbox from the stock Media Gallery? I use PingChat! with my friends and I often share pictures through the group chat. When I want to share a pic it only lets me "Take a photo" or grab one from the gallery. It's kind of a pain to go to the Dropbox folder, open up the photo, snap a screenshot, then share that in the chat.

    Is there an easier way to integrate my photo gallery from dropbox to my Droid?

    Mods: I tried to post this in the Support/Troubleshooting sub-forum but that link was down. Feel free to move it if needed
     

    Advertisement
  2. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Gonna move this to the App section.
    Only way is if you actually download the pics from your dropbox to phone. Until you do it isn't actually saved on your phone to share. If anyone else knows a way i'd love to hear it though
     
  3. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    When you download the photos, they go to a pre-specified Download folder on the SD Card. If I could just find a way to have the Incredible's Media Gallery see that folder as a gallery, that'd be fine.

    (Example, use the Dropbox app to "download" the photo I want, then immediately be able to see it in the Incredible's photo gallery) <--right now I have to use Astro to move the file :(
     
  4. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Yea me to... couple other apps i use that download pics it seems it takes a while for them to show up in the gallery. Sometimes i have a 'dropbox' foler that shows up in the gallery but most of the time i have to move them and pray they show up
     
  5. Tre Lawrence

    Tre Lawrence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    259
    Okay... hope this helps.

    When you download from DropBox, the files do go to the SD card. I have not figured out a way to "refresh" the gallery.

    However, I think that turning the phone off and then on again refreshes it, and you will then find the data on in the Gallery (in the name of the Dropbox file it was downloaded from..

    Not the most harmonious method, but it does seem to work. Now, as I said, if anyone knows how to refresh the gallery, I am all for it.

    Hope this makes sense... :)
     
  6. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    Try SDMOUNT (one word) from the Market. It eliminates the need to reboot the phone to get your sd pix recognized in the Gallery. You have to add it as a widget on your homescreen. It won't be in your App Drawer.

    Click the widget to refresh your Gallery.
     
  7. HoochieCoo

    HoochieCoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gallery won't see the files until media is rescanned. This happens at boot or if you remount the SD card.

    There is an app in the Market called Rescan Media that I use. After I am done downloading, I run that app.

    Actually... I also use Tasker, so I just setup a profile to automatically run Rescan Media when Dropbox exits (though I have to wait for the files to get done downloading before exiting).

    Anyway you slice it, it's a bit inconvenient we have to do this.
     
    BookLover likes this.
  8. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    Now that I have Tasker, Rescan Media is just what I need. Thx for the tip, HoochieCoo!
     
  9. HoochieCoo

    HoochieCoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    7
    One of the options the first time you start the program is to skip the screen... I can't remember what the options is (there is only one). You'll see it. After that, when you run Rescan Media, it just flashes by. Not terribly elegant, but it beats remounting the SD card.
     
  10. Tre Lawrence

    Tre Lawrence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    259
    Thanks... no matter what I think I have figured out, there is someone who knows a better a way. The true beauty of community.
     
  11. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    Well by golly, I didn't even realize they would eventually show up. I always cut/pasted the photos to a different folder so I never noticed. I will try to refresh app that a few other people mentioned is in the market. Thanks guys!!


    EDIT: Although, you know what I just thought of? When I take a "screenshot" it shows up immediately in the Media Gallery. I wonder why it's able to refresh the card and the downloading of a file from Dropbox doesn't... :(
     
  12. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Guessing it likes certain locations better. Some times even when i move stuff to a folder that is already showing up in gallery those pics won't show but if i move them to a different folder on there they are there instantly. I too am gonna try out the refreshing options posted here.

    Great thread idea OP!!
     
  13. HoochieCoo

    HoochieCoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    7
    I think there is a way a program can tell the system to refresh media. I know a music player I use does this. In Tasker, there is an action to rescan media, but I can't seem to make it work. So my guess is, Dropbox just isn't telling anyone a change was made. Not everything you download with Dropbox would be media related... so it's only a problem for these type files.

    I would love a better solution than the Rescan or SD remount. Rescanning the entire card takes a lot of time if you have a lot of media files. I have about 3gb of music, and you can tell the rescan is running because the phone chugs for a few seconds.
     

Share This Page

Loading...