Dumb Wifi Question (yes, I searched...)General


Last Updated:

  1. Doheny

    Doheny Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, are there advantages (saved battery life, data usage, whatever), to using wifi vs. the phone network if wifi is available?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. itsglorious

    itsglorious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    According to the battery tips sticky, wifi apparently uses less power than 3g. I don't ever use wifi, but I would assume it is faster also. :)
     
  3. Doheny

    Doheny Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    If I'm in wifi range, does the phone default to wifi, or what?
     
  4. itsglorious

    itsglorious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I believe if wifi is enabled, it will try to connect to any known networks if you are in range. The phone will use mobile network if you are out of range of any of wifi.
     
  5. Doheny

    Doheny Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thx
     
  6. Sketchee

    Sketchee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    It won't connect if it doesn't know the network, but if you tell it to save and always connect to a network (such as your home) it will.

    You can set it to have an alert if there is an open unencrypted network. Such as in a coffee shop
     
  7. itsglorious

    itsglorious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yup, this is correct. But I was unaware of the open network alert. That would be either pretty cool or really annoying depending on where you are :p
     
  8. rdalev

    rdalev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    34
  9. Sketchee

    Sketchee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep, if you go to Menu > Settings > Wireless Controls > Wi-Fi Settings and select "Network notification: Notify me when an open network is available" It will give you a notice. If wifi is disabled, this won't work. So using the Wi-Fi widget somewhere can quickly turn it off temporarily if it gets annoying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...