Dysfunctional Add Key


Last Updated:

  1. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey ya'll, I am new to this and I have a question. I want to be able to "add" something but my key won't let me. Also, is there a way that after I holster the "phone" I do not have to continually press the "on" key?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Hi pdreserve,

    I'm not sure what you mean...
    What type of phone are you asking about here? I can try to get you to the right place.
    and..

    Welcome to Android Forums! :D
     
  3. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Motorola Droid with the slide out keyboard.
     
  4. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Alright, I'm going to go ahead and move this thread to the "Motorola Droid" forum... someone should be able to help you out there.

    ...and by "add something", do you mean in the calculator app?

    Best of luck! :D
     
  5. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, the "add" from the menu to get to widgets. Thanks
     
  6. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Are you referring to the menu to add widgets to your home screen?
     
  7. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess that is what it is. When you want to add a widget from the "market" and it says to press the add button on the menu screen. It does not allow me to do anything with it.
     
  8. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    First off, have you downloaded the widget from the market?
     
  9. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cannot add anything. Even if I want to set up shortcuts, whenever I go to the home screen, go to menu, I see 5 items, add, wallpaper, search, notifications and settings. The add button does not function
     
  10. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Have you tried a battery pull?
     
  11. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes
     
  12. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Hmm... could be an issue with the software. Are you rooted?
     
  13. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, ignorance is not bliss. What is rooted?
     
  14. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    I think you are having an issue with terminology here?

    A widget is a specific type of application that runs on your home screens and does certain functions.

    A shortcut to application is not a widget.

    If you want to add an application to your home screen, you can bring it up in the applications menu, long press the application until it vibrates, and then it will be floating on the home screen and you can place it where you wish.

    Or, you can, on the homescreen, long press, then press shortcuts, then application.

    For a widget, you longpress the home screen, then hit widget.
     
  15. ccousinsjr

    ccousinsjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    14
    You can do Menu > Add > Widgets > Select your widgets
    (which apparently isn't working for you. Correct?)

    or just do long press on the homescreen > widget
     
  16. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I understand the long hold to et an app to the home screen. In order to add folders, direct dial shortcuts and stuff I have to go to menu and press the ADD button. It does not work. I cannot add anything. Even if I want to set up shortcuts, whenever I go to the home screen, go to menu, I see 5 items, ADD, wallpaper, search, notifications and settings. The add button does not function
     
  17. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Okay, obviously not. Don't worry about it... my recommendation is to call Motorola support to see if they can't help you out. They're usually very helpful... their Android Support line is 1-800-734-5870. If they can't help you the next step would be a hard reset.
    They should be able to help you out, but let me know how that goes!
     
  18. pdreserve

    pdreserve Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so I am a Droid Dork. I found that the home page has to have room to accept the feature to add. Sorry for the troubles,have a great night.
     
  19. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    I was actually beginning to wonder that just before you posted this. Great to hear you resolved your issue. Have a good one!
     

Share This Page

Loading...