Easy Tether not working on 2.1


Last Updated:

  1. josel777

    josel777 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I just installed the official 2.1 version from Sprint. For some reason Easy Tether is no longer working on 2.1, but PDANet works. Anyone else having the same problem?
     

    Advertisement
  2. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    18
    Easy Tether is working great for me. I chose it over PDANet becuase it performed better in speedtest for me. I would try reinstalling the PC side of the software again. What OS do you have on your PC? Good luck.
     
  3. Wingzfan61

    Wingzfan61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    36
    Working good here as well
     
  4. jasonsimms

    jasonsimms New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Had a similar issue. What I found consistently solved the problem (after much trial and error to validate) was to make sure that the default action settings for what happened when the usb is plugged in is either "charge only" or "disk drive". Then, if usb debugging isn't already on, turn it on. Easytether should work o.k. If it doesn't, uncheck "usb debugging" under the settings->application->development tab and re-check it. There was no separate "sync" option in 1.5/1.6 so I think that might having something to do with it. Probably easytether or driver related.
     
    ellymay and wwejr4540 like this.
  5. ellymay

    ellymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you jasonsimms. I've been trying for several days and many hours trying to tether via usb to my laptop for those rare times I might need to use my phone as a modem. Used to use PDANet for my MotoQ with no problems. Couldn't even download the new droid version.

    Tried Easytether and got it downloaded and it would start but get dropped almost immediately. Followed your advice (using "disk drive" for the usb connection) and it finally worked! I was ready to root but was scared to do so and this is the only thing that was an issue for me. Not paying $30 a month for the few times a year I'd need to tether to my laptop.

    After all of the attempts I've made and all the reading I've done, I'm more drained than my Evo's battery and I'll have to try it again tomorrow to make sure it really does work and I'm not asleep in my chair dreaming.
     
  6. longshot

    longshot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    18
    Having same issues here. It will work for me as long as I am not doing any kind of heavy downloading but browsing seems to work fine. Anyways me and my wife both have the same phones and she has never updated her Hero to Android 2.1 and it works like a charm on hers, also she has never updated the easy tether program on her laptop or phone. So it is either Android 2.1 or Easy Tether it's self. I emailed Mobi hand about the problem if I hear anything will post it here. Oh the setting it to disk drive it didnt work.
     
  7. barrybilt

    barrybilt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    works great. used it all day tethered to my laptop. very high speeds on 4G...and was on phone talking most of the day as well. only problem is every 30 minutes of so it stops, so i disconnect and reconnect. then it works again flawlessly. i have no idea why it works for awhile perfect and then just goes out.
    any ideas?
    I don't know what "resolver" means in the easytether menu.

    what a great program and 4G is amazing. I consistently get 4-5Mpbs downloads. I skype video'd today as well. it was about 80% of what my DSL broadband gave me in video quality. I am working on making it better. will keep trying.
     
  8. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    does anyone know if easy tether works on macs, i dont see that on the description. it only talks about working on pcs, but nonthing about working or not on macs
     
  9. longshot

    longshot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    18
    So far nothing has changed looks like might go back to the earlier version of the OS. My wifes phone works fine on either version of Easy Tether so it seems to me the OS is the culprit. Uninstalled and reinstalled Easy Tether as well and same problem. Any other ideas??
     
  10. thelastone

    thelastone New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. I just got easyteher to work with my HTC Hero running 2.1. I set it to connect as a usb drive, turned on debugging, and reinstalled the app on the phone. This last part is what I missed before. Forgot that part of the app was resident on the phone. Hope this helps.
     
  11. Mountainbiker

    Mountainbiker Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been using PDAnet whenever I need to connect to the internet using my netbook with my Hero 1.5.

    I haven't heard of easy thether... does it perform better that pdanet?

    Thanks
     
  12. burvee

    burvee New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wrong area to post in...sorry
     

Share This Page

Loading...