Easy tethering: (How-to)


Last Updated:

  1. Geoponic

    Geoponic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have HTC Hero on T-mobile (UK)

    but while looking through my phone i found

    home/settings/wireless controls/mobile network sharing


    It allows you to share the network through USB.

    I works prefectly with my NBR ubntunu 9.04 on Acer Aspire One
    have yet to tried it on vista.

    I did a few google searches while connected and loaded up a few blogs.

    My HSPDA seemed to struggle with the forums (however fine on my phone itself)

    But it is good.
    And simple.

    Not sure if you guys know about this,
    :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Yup, but its always good to share just in case!!
     
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,379
    Likes Received:
    16,473
    Yes, but not that it worked on anything but Windows. Nice.... is it just 'plug-n-play' or is a hardware driver or some sort required? Another member was wondering about this under OS X.... maybe it's not the non-starter I thought it was.

    Cheers!
     
  4. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    You have to have HTCSync installed first on your PC for this to work. It recognises the phone as another network adaptor when it is tethered. HTCSync provides the drivers for the adapter. You can see it (when you are tethered) by looking in the PC's Device Manager.
     
  5. Danny159

    Danny159 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    But I am on a mac!!, :'( meaning I cant install HTC Sync.... Annoying...
    Any idea?

    Dan
     
  6. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Haven't the faintest idea - other than buy a PC ;)

    Have you tried emailing HTC support to see what they say?
     
  7. Geoponic

    Geoponic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know on linux it's plug'n'play

    macs however...me no know.
     
  8. Danny159

    Danny159 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe mac is plug and play, I upgraded my contract, so I have to wait till 21st to get my internet on my phone so I will, try it and see and let you know guys!

    Dan
     

Share This Page

Loading...