Easy Update.zip to enable JIT


Last Updated:

  1. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Pete's released an update.zip that will flash the proper files and changes to build.prop to enable JIT.

    You should see about a 12-16% increase in linpack scores. Overall system performance should be boosted too. Whether it's noticeable or not depends on the user, I guess.

    I've tested this on his BB 0.7. This will probably work for other ROMs too, but it flashes the BB 0.7 build.prop, so your build number will change if you're using a different ROM.

    Here's the link:
    http://bit.ly/cNAjZs

    Be sure to make a backup before you do this so you can revert if you run into any instabilities. However, in my testing, the newer ESE53 ROMs are pretty stable with JIT.

    Good luck, happy JIT'ing!
     

    Advertisement
    inssane likes this.
  2. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm using it now on SS ESE53 build and it seems completely stable for the past 6 hours! No FC or reboots! :) I'm getting low 12's in MFLOP's too!! :D Heck yeah baby!! Also, how would I take it off if I ever wanted to? (not saying I am cause man is this stable, but if I ever needed to how would I go about doing that?).
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You'll need to pull the build.prop file off your phone and edit out the last line.
     
  4. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    I discovered today that you can also use the 'vi' editor that's included with BusyBox and edit it (and other files) directly through the adb shell.

    You could probably do it on the phone itself, but that would be a real chore.
     
  5. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    Is that hard? How would you go about doing that?
     
  6. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    If you can use adb, it is very easy

    adb pull /system/build.prop build.prop

    Then, navigate to your working directory, find the build.prop, open it in wordpad or whatever, delete the last line and save.

    then back in the command prompt:

    adb shell mount -o remount,rw /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system
    adb push build.prop /system/
    adb shell reboot
     
  7. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    Wow, that'll be a fun test of my adb knowledge lol.. I think I'll just wipe my phone before I do that haha.. (try to stay away from adb).. :cool:
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    You can also edit the file on your phone directly using Droid Root Explorer if you want too...
     
  9. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Or you could just revert back to the nandroid you made before you installed JIT!
     
  10. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    How so with root explorer? And yeah I know with the latest nandroid, but if I overwrite it then that goes bye bye lol.

    Btw, can JIT get better? Or is this the best it can get? Like can they make it faster and add more to the files to make it optimize speed more? Or no? (I'm not talking about ROM's changing, just JIT)..
     
  11. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Definitely. I don't know why developers stopped working on it for the Droid. It's so optimized in CyanogenMod for the N1. A stock N1 gets ~8Mflops in linpack and with JIT in CM5, can get 17Mflops!!

    I want that!
     
  12. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    WOW!! I saw they get 17, but that's a huge jump!! Someone needs to start working on it again! And ASAP!!
     
  13. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    Thanks man!
    I just pulled a 109ms on the short bench!
    I am averaging 135-145ms, which is better than what's in my sig (pre JIT)
    Also averaging 11.6mflops

    In the words of Peter Griffin - This phone is friggin sweeeeeeet

    Edit - now with SetCPU at "performance" I am averaging 132ms (nice) and 11.7mflops.
     
  14. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    Yup - what I did, right before the install
     
  15. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    Anybody notice that Chevy's 1.2 has issues with temp mon?.

    Also... anyone try Adams new ESE53 kernel yet?...
     
  16. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    if you are worried about using ADB and editting the buil.prop chevy made a script that does it for you. Here
     
  17. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Does it affect battery life at all?
     
  18. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    So you just rename it update.zip and install it like a rom?
     
  19. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    I'll probably go and change my build.prop to build.prop.original before I apply this update.zip. Then if I want to turn off JIT, I just need to rename build.prop to build.prop.jit and rename build.prop.original to build.prop. I don't know if this'll work but... I'll get back to you when I try. ;)
     
  20. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    I've actually just removed it because I saw my battery drop from 100% to 70% in 5 hours of 0 usage. I sent 2 text and that's it. Didn't turn the screen on or anything since those two texts. I'm not sure why it did that.. Normally my battery is still at 100%. I think I'm just going to hold off for a bit with JIT since I didn't notice that much of a performance increase, but I DID get 12.1 MFLOPS! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...