EasyTether with ErisGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    Anyone here using EasyTether? And if so, were there any tricks to get it to work?

    I downloaded the software (easytether_x86.msi) from their website, and installed it on my Acer Aspire 1 netbook, which runs XP Home. (It warned me it's not officially blessed by Microsoft, but it installed just fine.)

    I downloaded the app from the Market and ran that.

    Followed all the instructions, but after I connect my HTC Eris via USB to the netbook, (after the bubble pops up from the EasyTether icon in the system tray asking me to), that's as far as it gets. It says one has to wait until Windows loads the drivers, but nothing happens. The bubble just sits there. I don't know that it ever loaded any drivers, (although I have connected my phone to this same computer before, for file management purposes.)

    Anyone have any advice? Am I supposed to do something else? Do I need to mount the SD card for this to work for some reason? WTF, over?!

    I also asked in another thread under Android Applications, but thought I should check here, too.
     

    Advertisement
  2. arock

    arock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am pretty sure you need to wait for root to be able to any kind of tethering with the eris. Sorry but i dont recall exactly why right now.
     
  3. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
  4. Droid.eris

    Droid.eris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    3
    Lucky i just did a vid on it all you have to do is right click the easy tether thing in the notifications then you should see it pull up a little box and click HT9CXXXXXXX being the serial number of your phone then it will say connection established just make sure that you have the mobile set to always on if you need futher help contact me
     
  5. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did see one is supposed to do that, but it didn't give me that option. It only options it gave me were "Exit" and "Start on Launch" (or something like that). No option to connect to a device!

    So it's like something didn't load right. Or is there some specific order to do things? Like plug the phone in first, and then launch the software on the computer? Or a firewall issue? (I run ZoneAlarm, although it hasn't given me a notification.)

    Yes...any other ideas you have, I would love to hear them! Thanks!
     
  6. antnyp85

    antnyp85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nah you don't need root for this :) I installed it the other day.

    If you want another option other than Easy Tether, look up the thread on here for PdaNet... I decided to stick with the Easy Tether option, and so far it works great.



    Hmm all I did was follow the instructions just like it said, and it worked for me. Sorry you're having issues. Try completely uninstalling it, then search your computer for any folder that might still be saved in your Program Files, delete it, and reinstall... Don't plug your phone in until it tells you to do so in the instructions. Hope that helps!
     
  7. antnyp85

    antnyp85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    HEY ERIC!! Probably dumb question, but did you remember to go into Settings - Applications - Development - And check USB debugging??
     
  8. Droid.eris

    Droid.eris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay another thing to do is restart both the phone and computer turn off wifi and plug the phone up and open Easy Tether Beta on the phone and hit menu and make sure that the usb is seleccted and also restart service but it really shouldn't have messed up cuz im on my second HTC eris and i just noticed that i don't even have the app on it so you may want to uninstall with the phone unpluged then make sure u dont mess with any settings when installing and then after it loads plug the phone on make sure that the MOBILE IS ON and then repeat the steps to connect by right clicking on the notification icon and it should work if not maybe the drivers aren't installing correctly. let me know and i will make a video on doing manual Driver install for the phone
     
  9. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    antnyp85 - Just looked, and yes...that option was checked

    And yes, tried rebooting the computer, too, just in case, but that didn't help either. I haven't tried rebooting the phone though. Will try that next.

    Mobile network is on before plugging in the phone.

    It does seem like the drivers just didn't install for some reason. I downloaded the software directly onto my computer from their website. File name is; easytether_x86.msi

    I may just have to uninstall/re-install.

    Keep the ideas coming!
     
  10. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK. Rebooting both the computer and phone didn't help. Right clicking on the tray icon, still doesn't give me the option to connect to a device.

    Uninstalled on computer, and will reinstall.

    But before I reinstall, let me make certain I understand the order of things.

    1) Leave the phone unplugged, and have mobile network on.
    2) Reinstall software on computer
    3) Launch the software on the computer, and wait for it to tell me to plug the phone in.

    And so I don't need to run the app thing on the phone.

    Does all that sound right? Appreciate the help, guys.
     
  11. antnyp85

    antnyp85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    Eric,

    Yup, just reinstall the software on your computer... Follow their instructions on when to plug in your phone... Then connect your phone... That's all I did and it worked. Good luck bro.

    I'm curious, do you have HTC Sync installed on your computer? I was initially having issues when I installed PdaNet, and someone suggested I install HTC Sync even though I never use it... So I did... And everything's working...
     
  12. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    antnyp85 - Uninstall/reinstall didn't work. No, I don't have HTC sync installed on my computer. I did notice when I reinstalled the software, that it said one needed to install these drivers if they didn't have HTC sync. So I figured it should work w/o it? But hey...at this point, I'm willing to try anything. So I should probably uninstall EasyTether before doing so. (EasyTether...an oxymoron, in my case! More like, NotSoEasyTether!)
     
  13. Droid.eris

    Droid.eris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yea you dont need HTC Sync maybe something in your drivers is going bad
     
  14. synikal

    synikal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    It works for me when I unplug the wireless and restart the computer.
     
  15. Akshun

    Akshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    58
    PDANet worked great for me. Very easy.
     
  16. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    Droid.eris - I thought so. But I just finished installing HTC sync, so I'll give it a shot. I hope that reinstalling EasyTether doesn't corrupt those drivers, if that is indeed the problem! I re-downloaded the EasyTether .msi file just in case it was a bad download.

    Akshun - The free version of PDANet does not allow access to https web sites, so that's why I want to get EasyTether working.
     
  17. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK guys. One of those two things solved the problem. Unfortunately, I can't say which one, since I did both! (Installed HTC Sync & downloaded a new version of the EasyTether .msi file. Oh, and I also turned off my anti-virus software when installing both, just in case.)

    I'm writing this post over my newly tethered phone! Cool!

    I really appreciate all the help.
     
  18. antnyp85

    antnyp85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    Haha glad you got it to work!!! No prob, hopefully SOMETHING that we all said helped lol.
     
  19. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah. I'm glad it finally works!

    You guys absolutely helped me out! HTC sync, or a bad download? Don't know which, but that took care of it. We'll have to wait for someone w/o HTC sync to get it to work, because I sure as heck am not going to try uninstalling it, and starting over!

    Again, I really appreciate it. Nice forum here!
     
  20. textstev

    textstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just purchase it to use http. It's worth it if you are on the go. Cheaper than a monthly bill, but really I just do everything on my phone faster than my computer now, haha

    Also, I was trying Easy Tether, but it doesn't work on 64 bit OS yet. :(
     
  21. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well...I'm sorry to report that tonight when I went to try something out using EasyTether, it wouldn't work again!

    I launched the pgm on my computer, and the tray icon showed up, but there was no bubble message telling me to plug in the phone! Right clicked on it, and no options except "Launch at startup" and "Exit". So I plugged the phone in anyway, but still no dice.

    I am about ready to give up on this app!!!!! Why should it just stop working?!
     
  22. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    Update 2/18/10. I uninstalled both EasyTether and HTC Sync, and re-installed them, and now EasyTether is working again. I have connected/disconnected the phone several times, and it seems OK, for the most part.

    One time, however, my computer told me it did not recognize this USB device when I plugged it in, but when I right clicked on the EasyTether tray icon and connected to the phone, it worked anyway.

    My fear is that when I restart the computer, it won't work again.

    So there clearly appear to be some bugs here. MobileStream - Please fix!
     
  23. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    The people reviewing Easy Tether today are saying not to do the new upgrade. Apparently, you have to pay now?

    If I refuse to upgrade and keep the beta version, will it continue to work?
     
  24. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    They said 0.9.2 will be decommissioned tomorrow.
     
  25. textstev

    textstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just use pdanet, https activities can run fairly well on the phone if need to do those.

    Just a suggestion for now until that easytether thing works out for ya
     

Share This Page

Loading...