Eclipse unusable...

Last Updated:

1. XsCode

XsCode Member This Topic's Starter

I've set up eclipse with the SDK and everything was fine until I started trying to do anything. The simplest things like clicking from XML view to Layout view cause Eclipse to crash or error and freeze. I was so eager and excited to start developing for android but now I just want to forget it! Any alternative IDE's or tips on getting Eclipse to run stable?

TIA

Advertisement
  2. Jacob Malliet

Jacob Malliet Active Member

Are you using eclipse 3.6? If so you need to downgrade to 3.5 as Google has said their current adt isn't compatible with eclipse 3.6.

3. XsCode

XsCode Member This Topic's Starter

It seems the same with 3.6 and 3.5. I'm following a tutorial using 3.5 and it asked me to rename main.xml to scores.xml, so I right clicked on main.xml and it hung Eclipse. I've been developing in VB on windows for over 16 years and I never got so frustrated as I have in 1 day with this!

I just opened task manager to kill the process and noticed that the memory used was increasing by 2mb a sec and was running at 680mb and counting! something is seriously wrong!

4. cp1

cp1 Well-Known Member

I have had it crash a couple times on me when editing XML -- every key I type in the xml document would make the properties tab recalculate all the properties. After a few lines it crashed. You might see if this is the case and try to disable the properties window. Or reinstall eclipse I guess.

How much RAM do you have?

5. markb

markb Well-Known Member

Have you tried working in a completely new workspace?
    It might be worth a try, seeing as it's not working at all for you at the moment.

I've had problems in the past when my workspace has gotten messed up, and I've had to manually fix or remove configuration files. If it's crashed on you then it might have left your workspace in a bad state.