Editing APK files (Droid X Keyboard)


Last Updated:

  1. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    Seeing how this keyboard works on 2.1, I'd definitely love to get this working on 2.2 somehow.

    I want to try to experiment with this apk and see what I can possibly change in order to get it to work on 2.2. Does anyone know what files that may need to be edited within the apk? I just need a direction to start going in. Also I've downloaded "APK Manager" can I maybe do something there?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    All an .apk file is is a .zip file. You can unzip them with any archiving software.


    Once you get the files, that's a different story :D
     
  3. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    maybe fab can port it over for us ;)
     
  4. ech0

    ech0 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    The multitouch keyboard is working -- I've got it running on my Droid right now -- but the ampersand is all sorts of ****ed up on the symbols page. It shows &amp, which isn't a functional problem, just really gaudy.

    Anyone run into that, or know about a fix?
     
  5. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    you have it working on 2.1 or 2.2? 2.2 is where you run into problems as the droid x runs on 2.1
     
  6. ech0

    ech0 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm running it on CM 5.0.8, so 2.1. I haven't tried it on 2.2.
     
  7. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    yah thats where it doesnt work. i restored to an old 2.1 rom and it worked great and it is a awesome keyboard... it just doesnt work on 2.2, FC's as soon as u try to open it.
     
  8. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    All of this is way complicating lol. That's a great idea.....Maybe Fab you can help us out with that....
     
  9. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    I switched to 2.1 for a while today messing around. I still like the XDA HTC keyboard better, especially with that Gimpsta site. The multitouch does work. I'm fine without it though, and I really like the options with the XDA one and I like HTC's layout much better.
     
  10. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    In your experience which was easier to type on?
     
  11. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    The XDA one. I lift my fingers high off the screen so the multitouch isn't an issue. I think all the swype commands on the XDA one and everything else, custom smileys and stuff make it better. I also tried the Swype Beta, didn't like that either. No multitouch on the beta.

    I have my keyboard set to switch from qwerty to compact qwerty by swiping right. This makes it easier to type with one hand. ...while driving... in California... where it's illegal....
    I swipe up to capitalize, swipe down to close the keyboard, swipe left to delete the last word.
    there's the voice command button
    you can long press the keys to use the alt key w/o having to hit alt
     
  12. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    I have no idea how to fix this for 2.2

    If it were open source, perhaps they could just recompile it for 2.2, but it's closed source.

    Someone will figure it out though, I'm pretty sure. If it were a 2.2 app we were trying to back port to 2.1, then maybe it couldn't be done, but I'm almost pretty sure if an app runs on 2.1, it can be easily made to run on 2.2
     
  13. condog

    condog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    5
    gasp :eek: ..... i hope you are being modest :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...