Elelinux RC1


Last Updated:

  1. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888

    Advertisement
  2. adz63

    adz63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    13
    lol i'll stick with this one lol its running perfect at the mo (touch wood )
     
  3. adz63

    adz63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    13
    anyway whats different i cant tell lol
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I don't know, I never installed the special edition one. I was still on 1.9.
     
  5. adz63

    adz63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    13
    lol i been looking at both of em and cant see nothing that has changed
     
  6. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    8
    How would you compare Elelinux to Froyd?
     
  7. adz63

    adz63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    13
    xyro is the main man to ask but my opinion is i just swapped from froyd 1.5 to the elelinux special edition , i had lots of problems on froyd at start but they sorted themselfs out then started again (this is not the case for most people its just me and ROMS dont mix xyro will tell ya ) but i thought froyd was good will it was stable , but dont let that put you off froyd as i said its just me and ROMS are enemies lol

    the elelinux special edition i have is awesome and although have had it only 24hrs it is awesome , not 1 little bug i can think of at , all my battery life is at 65% in 24hrs of about 20 mins of calls sent about 200 texts , listened to music for about an hour and been fiddling about with new ROM , compared to froyd my battery lasted from full charge about 6 hrs not even doing half that
     
  8. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hmm, thanks.

    I am loving EzHeroV5 but it is having some issues...might give it a try.

    I just hate skrewing with titanium backup...for some reason it hasnt been working very well for me...maybe now that i partitioned my sd it will go smoother.

    Have you tested the 3d ability or tried an openGL benchmark?

    And correct me if im wrong but Isn't the 2.0 version of Elelinux supposed to be the final release? Should be pretty stable right?
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I would recommend Elelinux over Froyd 1.5 just because of the battery improvements. But, as far as I'm aware, that's just because the older cyanogen code than 1.5 was based on had a few bugs. So maybe the next froyd release will catch up thanks to the newer cyanogen code that elelinux is using.

    What's going wrong with titanium backup?

    And yeah, if something can possibly go wrong it will happen to adz :p
     
  10. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    8
    well i tried to backup my user apps plus data (saved progress in games) and when i went to restore them the list of backed up apps was gone and all my saved data was gone.

    i suppose i would try it again....guess it just takes time to figure it out.

    Hey have you guys flashed that FastBoot OC from the same gentleman who made flykernel ?
    Apparently that coupled with the kernel and Elelinux it's all blazing fast!
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Changelog

    @Jared1234:
    Open Titanium Backup, and in Menu/Preferences check the "Backup folder name" to make sure that there's a valid entry. Also ensure that "Normal apps" "Protected apps" and "Market link" are checked.

    When making a backup the "batch" operation acts on the currently-selected filter, so ensure that you have that set to display "User apps" (All).
     
    jared1234 likes this.
  12. ooberandy

    ooberandy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    77
    Im gonna be thick here, but which one do i download? :S

    I currently have the Villain 12 ROM, but am confuzzled by all the different download links. I have downloaded the 2.2 ROM, do I need to download all the other files also?
     
  13. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Ok, well going through his thread:

    - You obviously need FROYO_2.2_elelinux_v2.0
    - A theme, if you want one
    - The extra widgets are optional. Probably not necessary if you have the donate version of launcher pro.
    - I think you need the google apps 1 and 2 .zips. I didn't install them and now the market isn't letting me install updates to a few google apps.
    - The other add/remove app ones are optional too.
    - I don't know which kernel is included by default, but I installed the BFS one from the link given.
     
  14. ooberandy

    ooberandy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    77
    Cheers Xyro.

    My ignorance is even more exposed now. I'll have to download launcher pro first & look at how to install the kernel - but thanks for clearing it up
     
  15. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Just flash your kernel immediately after flashing the rom. :)

    Or if you've already booted since flashing, wipe the dalvik cahe and the normal cache (if the option is there on your recovery menu) then flash the kernel.
     
  16. Captain Stu

    Captain Stu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    Oh shitballs, I was just getting used to 1.9

    :(

    Can't be arsed removing EVERYTHING and starting again.
     
  17. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    You don't have to remove/lose anything. If coming from 1.9 a wipe of the dalvik-cache is all that's required before flashing a later version - nothing (and I mean nothing!) requires reconfiguring afterwards.
     
    Captain Stu likes this.
  18. Captain Stu

    Captain Stu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    BONER!! :D Suh-weeeeeeet.

    One more thing, I know to wipe it but what the hell IS a dalvik cache?

    EDIT: Nevermind, I found an answer. :D
     
  19. ooberandy

    ooberandy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    77
    Hmmm, i've obviously done something wrong :S

    I only have the option to add a twitter, microsoft exchange active sync or facebook account under the accounts & sync settings.

    Gmail wont even load up & the dialer and people icons display 'could not launch the requested activity'

    I flashed the ROM, kernel & Gapps part1 all together. Any ideas as to how to figure out whats wrong :)
     
  20. ooberandy

    ooberandy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    77
    I have rebooted holding home & power, but am unable to use the trackball to change options :S the trackball seems buggy when the phone is fully booted. it will scroll around the home screen selecting apps that are on display but will only move one screen to the right when trying to switch screens. all other ROM's i'd used the trackball would not choose an icon, but would scroll screens :(

    EDIT - bit hasty there, didnt realise the volume rocker could be used
     
  21. marco712

    marco712 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know how to get voice to text or voice navi on their elelinux 2.0?

    they seem to be missing on install. I've tried the google app's pack addon but no luck. maybe i did something wrong?
     
  22. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hey i was checking around xda and the thread that lists the Elelinix v2.0 was started back in August.

    So this didn't just come out like the other day did it? Or did they release an update for the 2.0 version?????
    Confused ;(
     
  23. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    jared1234 its an old thread.

    but check this

     
  24. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    I've been playing with this ROM today and have to say it is noticeably smoother than Froyd and that is without any overclocking. Also it has none of the Market problems that I experience with Froyd that have always been attributed to Google - this is clearly not the case.
    The only gripes I have are the theme colours (battery etc) and the bland lockscreen. Could someone give me any links to alternatives, especially the lockscreen that I can easily flash over the ROM
    Edit: Still have market problems :(
     
  25. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    The only ones I know that work are the themes listed in the support thread i.e. Stock, Sense and BlackMod. At least one user was also developing a theme, so others may follow.

    In regard to the Market issue, try clearing the application cache first and rebooting the handset before reconnecting to the Market. If that fails try clearing application data, although this may result in your having to "reinstall" your purchased apps to reestablish their Market links.
     

Share This Page

Loading...