Email account ?


Last Updated:

  1. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ordered a droid and should be here Tuesday.

    Quick question. I am coming from a BB Storm where my Road Runner (internet provider) email account worked flawlessly on the Storm. Back in the day when i had a Treo there was big work around you had to use in order to get email accounts like this to work on it. Is this the case with a Droid as well, or is it as simple as the BB storm where i just enter in my email and password in setup and it is done?

    The sales rep on the phone told me i would be able to get my RR emails on the droid but we all know how sales reps can be.
     

    Advertisement
  2. MotoDroidHelpandInfo

    MotoDroidHelpandInfo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never tested with a RR account but, all it asks for is email and password. If not it's not that hard to set it up manually.
     
  3. galt

    galt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    But you should set up a gmail account too. It will provide some sync and backup for contacts, things like that. It may be easier to move your RoadRunner contact list to gmail, and then let android take care of the rest.
     
  4. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm not worried about the contact list, all i'm concerned with is that i can recieve my RR emails and send emails out from that address as it is the address i do all my emailing from and is the email everyone uses to email me
     
  5. famac!

    famac! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    3
    If your RR account is POP3 based, it will not work well. A lot of folks are reporting issues with POP3.
     
  6. DrDroid

    DrDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    RoadRunner supports POP3, your Droid should connect to it fine.
     
  7. Mayze

    Mayze Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0

    +1 for POP3 issues. I use Charter e-mail which is POP3 and I can't get it to work no matter what I try.:(
     
  8. DrDroid

    DrDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is important to set the SMTP ports correctly, some providers configure theirs differently.
     
  9. Mayze

    Mayze Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've set it exactly the way I have it set for Outlook Express. I hope the new update makes it work.
     
  10. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm still having an error message. I called verizon and they couldnt help and told me to call Road Runner which i did. The setup RR gave me was the same i had put in myself.

    Incoming server settings

    username: first part of email address
    i.e. johndoe@cinci.rr.com so username would be johndoe
    password: xxxxxxx
    pop3 server: pop-server.cinci.rr.com
    port 110
    security type none
    delete from server : when i delete from inbox

    when i hit next it checks incoming server settings and moves on

    Outgoing server

    smtp server: smtp-server.cinci.rr.com
    port 25
    sercurity type: none

    i hit next and it moves on

    when i try to send or recieve or when i hit Load more messages i get a yellow box that pops up saying "Connection error"

    this is starting to be real frustrating. My BB setup was so easy. This one is not cooperating. Any help would be great
     
  11. Arsonman

    Arsonman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    6
    I started a thread with the same POP3 RR account problems. I kept trying and trying and on the fourth day of numerous tries it worked. I however cannot send emails, just receive them. So there must be something that we/they (motorola, verizon or RR) are doing wrong.

    I am using the same setup (ports) that you are for my RR account.
     
  12. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah its weird i stopped by my parents house to pick up some stuff and connected to their wifi and the 10 test emails i had in my outbox all of a sudden went out. But when i got off the wifi it was back to square 0. Someone out there has to know a fix
     
  13. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    any other Road Runner ISP people out there that can lend a hand? I know i can have my RR mail forwarded to my gmail account but the point is that my RR email account allows me much more inbox space than a gmail account does.
     
  14. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have cinci road runner but I did not set it up on my phone. I save those emails for the computer. I do know that this question came up last week sometime. There was a suggestion that you put your user name in as the entire email address including the @cinci.rr.com I don't know if that worked or not but I did see it as a possibility.
     
  15. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    I just set it up on my phone to test it. I put in the user name as user@cinci.rr.com All of the other settings you have are correct. I sent a message from my phone to another account and it worked. I sent a message from another account on my computer to the phone and it worked. It seems that the trick is to put in the whole email address for user name.

    I hope it works!
     
    NYAV8R likes this.
  16. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    FWIW, I just insalled the K-9 Mail client this morning...infinitely better than the stock DROID POP3 client. It may have issues sending thru WiFi...I've been doing a lot of tests but didn't pay attention to whether it sent via WiFi vs. 3G. Something tells me no from what I remember, but there are many more synch interval options and it just manages your account much better.
     
  17. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    And it lets you put in a signature for all of your accounts.
     
  18. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    K9 is your ISP email or k9 is n application. If its an app are you using a road runner email account
     
  19. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    K9 is a free app from the android market. It lets you set up all of your accounts. I set up my road runner account in K9 to test it and it worked fine sending and receiving.
     
  20. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    It lets you do a lot of things the stock client "does't"..."sort by..." being one of them. I just noticed that at the last message, if you press in the "Load up to...more" area, you can get it to load older and older messages, with each press". This may be avail. in the native client, but was something I was looking for anyway. It will also let you sync if the global "Background Sync" is turned off.
     
  21. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you confirm you incomign and outgoing server settings for the Road runner account please
     
  22. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you confirm your incoming and outgoing server settings. And are you checking the box under ougoing server that says Require a sign in?

    i'm geting this error

    Setup could not finsh

    Cannot connect to server. (421 hrndva-omtalb.mail.rr.com connection refused from 75.xxx.xxx.xxx
     
  23. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    Is that box checked or unchecked by default?
     
  24. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    I do not get an option to check or uncheck the box using K9 (or not checking the manual set up button.) Give me a moment to try setting it up in the default app.
     
  25. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Checked by default
     

Share This Page

Loading...