Email notifications?Support

Last Updated:

1. shaneallenhenderson

shaneallenhenderson Well-Known Member

I am new to Android.....I am used to my blackberry.

How can I make my phone let me know when I get emails? The notifications are not working for gmail or yahoo?

2. Frisco

Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

Welcome to Android Forums, shane.

You're going to have to tell us which Android device you're wanting to see notification of emails received; they're not all the same.
  3. DarkKirby

DarkKirby Member

Well, assuming you have set up a google account on your phone, that email should have notifications on by default, If not go to the gmail application, click the options button on the bottom of your phone, and select settings. If settings does no appear click "more", then settings.

It's the same for other mail, except you use the email (that's not gmail) application. You can also select from both application how often you would like for your phone to check for new email. My assumption is more power is used the more often it checks.
  4. Frisco

Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

I'm thinking the OP is referring to notifications when the screen is locked/asleep.

Notifications are different from device to device, in that case.
  5. shaneallenhenderson

shaneallenhenderson Well-Known Member

I have the samsung mesmorize gagaxy 8

My gmails come through fine. No yahoo or comcast. I have to manually check them. It sucks.
  6. woop

woop novacane (OFWGKTA) VIP Member

Moving to the Mesmerize forum.
  7. USCellularAndroid

USCellularAndroid Well-Known Member

Since Android is developed by Google, Yahoo wants you to pay for their premium service to use the stock email app. You can download the Yahoo Mail app, yet I like to have a combined email inbox for my gmail/yahoo. Luckily people figured it out and posted how to get around paying for it.