Email set-up problems on droidSupport


Last Updated:

  1. rwensing

    rwensing Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got the motorola droid, coming from a storm. I am having trouble setting up email on one of my school accounts. The IT people there don't know what they are doing so I'm hoping someone here can help me. The only information they offer is


    • For server type you need to select IMAP
    • For incoming server you need to input imap.rollins.edu and the username and password will be the same as your Novell.
    • For outgoing server you need to input imap.rollins.edu and again the username and password will be the same as your Novell.
    • Incoming Port should be 993 and outgoing port 26 with ssl
    • You must also have the checkbox for "My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication" under "More settings" and the "Outgoing Server" tab.
    • For Pop accounts the port number is 995
    I got past the incoming step using imap.rollins.edu as server, port 993, and SSL(accept all certificates). I am unable to get past outgoing server screen...

    Ive tried using imap.rollins.edu and smtp.rollins.edu as outgoing servers and tried ports 26 and 465 with either no encryption, ssl, and ssl (accept all certificates). Tried every combination between those, along with using the same exact settings I used to put my Purdue email on the phone (which worked)

    Any help would be appreciated.

    (I also tried setting it up with a POP3 acct using 995 port and couldnt get past incoming server part....i tried imap.rollins.edu, mail.rollins.edu, rollins.edu, and rwensing.mail.rollins.edu as the server in that attempt.

    Blackberry makes it alot easier as it detects all the settings for you

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. rwensing

    rwensing Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    please someone help me!
     
  3. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was having problems connecting to my ISP to get my POP3 mail. I was entering the info as it was posted on the "help" website, to no avail. I kept getting stuck where you are: couldn't get past "outgoing."

    A phonecall to techsup revealed to me that the Droid (I can't remember why) was a special exception to the posted settings, and he gave me the new outgoing server name. My outgoing server name went from "mail.cableone.net" to "authmail.cableone.net."

    This info may not be as helpful to you as it was to me, except for this: call your techsup. Escalate until you find someone that will help. Try the settings as they're given, and stay on the call until it's resolved. You will succeed.

    And it'll feel really good when you do.
    Dan
     
  4. rwensing

    rwensing Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately the IT people claim they don't provide support for the android operating system. So I don't know what to do.
     
  5. baka

    baka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    any way for you to check your settings on your bb and mirror them?
     
  6. rwensing

    rwensing Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried looking through for how to do that but couldn't find an settings information. And my bis login was already disabled so I can't log on to rims site to look there. Blackberrys automatically detect all the settings which was real nice. If you know a way to check please let me know.
     
  7. baka

    baka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh shoot man, youre right. i was trying to see if i could find the settings in my gf bb and in order to get to them you have to login to bis. i didnt see any other way of obtaining the settings.

    the droid has auto set up as well. did that not work for you? before i switched to Touchdown by NitroDesk i used the auto settings and it picked up all my exchange settings for work without issue.

    only other thing i can suggest is google it. as far as i can tell, you're using settings that would appear correct. just call the it people up and tell them you need the settings for a different phone. the settings should be the same for all phones.
     
  8. Techdroid

    Techdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thankyou so much Dan. I googled this problem because Verizon tech and cableone tech could not help me. Your solution hooked me right up. All Verizon would tell me is that sometimes cableone doesn't work on the Droid, but you can forward cableone to gmail. I don't like both accounts together like that. Thankyou so much, Techdroid
     
  9. CheriMD

    CheriMD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried these settings and still can't get incoming or outgoing set up. Any other ideas or your exact settings, ports for both? Thanks :)
     
  10. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Try using K-9 Mail (not stated which email app you are using), free from the Android Market. Don't use the "manual" setup initially as it may find your settings. If it errors on "invalid username/password", try putting in your full email address as the username.

    If the auto setup fails, then try manual.
     
  11. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    125
    I finally switched all my accounts to be received then forwarded to my Droid via Gmail. This works a lot better than the email application (non-gmail).

    The gmail app has all the features I have been needing, Signature, bulk operations, spam removal works better (I had known before) and more.
     
  12. CartOverlord

    CartOverlord Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    may i ask what settings you used for your Purdue email account? that happens to be the one I'm having trouble with
     
  13. big%boy%big

    big%boy%big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hey guys, I just had this phone fully flashed to metro pcs a couple of days ago. My gmail account works just fine, but I want to access my mymetromail account as well. Any settings I need to make in order to access this account? Any help you provide will be most appreciative. Thanks.
     
  14. its ron

    its ron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...